Skip to Content

Ballroom
Elisabeth Belliveau (Antigonish, NS)

Exhibition from February 2nd to March 2nd, 2018
Opening Friday February 2nd, 6pm to 9pm
Artist Talk 7pm

Ballroom is the title of a two-channel 7minute animation loop and related sculptures created at Banff Centre for the Arts during the Still Alive thematic residency. Ballroom is an investigation into animated spaces and materialized transformations, rooted in the tradition of Still life. I position Still-life as both a language and feminist practice in art history. I explore intersections of sculpture and the moving image in dialogue with digital tools, employing high and low materials and technologies to investigate how materials perform. Ballroom is an animation that begins with a reference to the studio of Giorgio Morandi and his late flower paintings. The animation unfolds as the camera pans through a mise en abyme of the studio within the studio and layers of time. Ballroom is a place of performed encounter – it is also the name of a cave in Luray Virginia of which a panoramic photographic reference appears in the animation.

The second animation in this exhibition is titled "Izanami" . This work was developed through research into still life and vanitas in Japanese art. I have used the shape of the narrative from the Kojiki origin myth of Izanami and Izanagi to choreograph the movement of the animated objects. Izanami and Izanagi are deities that created the eight islands of Japan. The sound is created by Yokohoma based artist Nao Nishihara. This project was made possible thanks to a residency at Tokyo Wondersite in Japan and the Conseil des Arts et des Lettres de Quebec.

Born in Antigonish Nova Scotia, Elisabeth completed a BFA at Alberta College of Art and Design in Sculpture and an MFA in Fibres at Concordia University in Montréal. She is a visual artist and a published author of four graphic novels. She has exhibtied and screened her work internationally including Holland Animation Festival, Anifest Prague, Lux London UK and with Eyeworks 2017 in LA, Brooklyn and Chicago. She has attended residencies including Banff Centre for the Arts, Women’s Studio Workshop NY, Tokyo Wondersite-Japan, RAVI – Belgium and the National Film Board of Canada.

 

Credit photos : Paul Litherland

Please click below to see full size images
See video
Ballroom
Ballroom
Ballroom
Ballroom
Ballroom
Ballroom
Ballroom
Ballroom
Ballroom
Ballroom
Ballroom
Ballroom
Ballroom
Ballroom
Ballroom
Ballroom
Ballroom

Skip to Content

Ballroom
Elisabeth Belliveau (Antigonish, NS)

Exposition du 2 février au 2 mars 2018
Vernissage vendredi le 2 février, 18h à 21h
Présentation d'artiste 19h

Ballroom est le titre d’une animation vidéo à deux canaux d’une durée de 7 minutes ainsi que de sculptures connexes: une installation créée au Centre d’arts de Banff dans le cadre d’une résidence d’artiste sur le thème “Toujours en vie”. Ballroom est une investigation des espaces animés et des transformations matérialisées, ancrée dans la tradition des Natures mortes. J’aborde la Nature morte comme langage ainsi que pratique féministe en histoire de l’art. J’explore les intersections entre la sculpture et l’image en mouvement à travers les outils numériques, employant des matériaux et des technologies de haute comme de base qualité afin d’étudier la manière dont performent les matériaux. L’animation Ballroom débute avec une référence au studio de Giorgio Morandi et ses tableaux floraux tardifs. L’animation se déploie alors que la caméra effectue un mouvement panoramique sur une mise en abîme du studio à l’intérieur du studio et de couches temporelles multiples. Ballroom est un lieu de rencontre performée – c’est aussi le nom d’une des Grottes de Luray en Virginie (USA) dont la référence photographique panoramique apparait dans l’animation.

La seconde animation dans cette exposition s’intitule « Izanami ». Cette pièce fut développée à travers une recherche sur la Nature morte et les vanitas dans l’art japonais. J’utilise la forme du récit de Kojiki sur le mythe d’origine d’Izanami et Izanagi pour chorégraphier le mouvement des objets animés. Izanami et Izanagi sont les déités qui ont créé les huit îles qui forment le Japon. Le son de l’animation fut conçu par l’artiste Nao Nishihara. Ce projet a été rendu possible grâce à la résidence d’artiste Tokyo Wondersite au Japon ainsi que le Conseil des Arts et des Lettres de Québec.

Née à Antigonish en Nouvelle-Écosse, Elisabeth Belliveau a complété un BFA au Alberta College of Art and Design en Sculpture et un MFA en Fibres à l’Université Concordia à Montréal. Elle est artiste visuelle et auteure de quatre romans graphiques. Son travail a été présenté à l’international, notamment au Holland Animation Festival, au Anifest Prague, au Lux London (Angleterre) et au Eyeworks 2017 à Los Angeles, Brooklyn et Chicago. Elle a été accueillie en résidence au Banff Centre for the Arts, au Women’s Studio Workshop (NY), au Tokyo Wondersite (Japon), au RAVI (Belgique) et à l’Office National du Film du Canada.

www.elisabeth-belliveau.com

 

Credit photos : Paul Litherland

Cliquez pour voir le travail de l'artiste
See video
Ballroom
Ballroom
Ballroom
Ballroom
Ballroom
Ballroom
Ballroom
Ballroom
Ballroom
Ballroom
Ballroom
Ballroom
Ballroom
Ballroom
Ballroom
Ballroom
Ballroom