Skip to Content

The Ethical Etherealness of Fuck and Love
Lindsay Nixon (Montreal, QC), curator
Sarah Biscarra Dilley (xučyun/Oakland, CA)
Dayna Danger (Montreal, QC; from Winnipeg, MB)
Kama La Mackerel (Montreal, QC)
Arielle Twist (Halifax, NS; from George Gordon First Nation)
Amber Williams-King (Toronto, ON)

Exhibition from September 21 to October 19, 2018
Opening September 21, 6pm to 9pm
Artist Talk October 18, 6pm to 9pm

The Ethical Etherealness of Fuck and Love

“Why don’t you ever use your strength on me?” she said.
“Because love means renouncing strength,” said Franz softly.

―Milan Kundera, The Unbearable Lightness of Being

Sry not sry: Kundera was a fucking asshole. If someone asks to be slapped across the face repeatedly so they can spray cum all over your bedroom floor, the back alley you’re making dirty in, or wherever, you better beat the hell out of that beautiful sub bb—if you consent, that is; or if you don’t consent, but like it that way.

Kundera was just another yt boi who drew from centuries old knowledges about eternal return, contained within the stories of Jainism, Hinduism, Sikhism, Turtle Island Indigenous teachings, and Buddhism, just so he could colonize its ethical love logix with his own brand of jerk-off existentialism. I know you didn’t think a yt boi made that shit up[i]?

But we only live once, he whined, time is linear, duh. Sry Kuny, ya basic. With our Mother, we live forever. Leave it to a fuck boi to say that if we, as humans, don’t know outcomes, we can’t ever know if our decisions are right or wrong. We can still ground our actions in good-intent and love, like the teachings from the aunties say. A fuck boi says lightness, where I argue that the draw to empathy is not unbearable, but in itself, sweet. Knowing, accepting, the heaviness of continuity, forever, is, indeed, a loving fate.

Some have asked if ethical love is just a quandary borrowed from the existentialists, walking around some French-Canadian city with a Camus tattoo and worn down copy of The Unbearable Lightness of Being in their back pocket—a modern day, fuck boi Franz. Don’t get it twisted, the simultaneously ancient and present, ethereal body of colour is a vessel for the O.G. ethical loving and fucking that have always existed in occupied territories.

“The Ethical Etherealness of Fuck and Love” takes back the ethics of intimacy and relationality from those yt bois too light to hold down—Kundera, Nietzche, Bourriaud. Yes, global colonialism has disrupted our traditional life ways—our ways of loving and being loved. We are sick with an extractive white-supremacist project that has resulted in a loss of our connection to the land and, along with it, our connectivity with all life around us and our understandings of how that connection is fostered through love. But that’s precisely why love is a politic, one which we activate through engagement with ancient technologies—our material cultures. Our sacred kinships and relationalities are encoded within us, hard wired into our bodies. From them, we create something that is both futuristic and of the old ways, embodied through us. We are the children of the diaspora, loving, fucking, and healing ourselves into the future.

Just as human time has never been linear, human love, human fuck, has never been contained in the physical form of humanity. We are phantoms, ethereal, haunting colonized territories with a love that just won’t quit. Because we know love is heavy, oh so heavy. We fuck until the sun comes up. We’ll cum until the world ends and we all plunge into the dark, comfortable hole[ii]. We love our bodies back to life. Because tonight, we are infinite. Thus spoke karma sutra[iii].

 

[i] A reference to the 2000 film Bring It On.
[ii] A reference to Koko, the sign language speaking gorilla, as told to her caretaker Francine Patterson.

[iii] A play on Nietzche’s Thus Spoke Zarathustra.

 

 

 

 

Lindsay Nixon is a Cree-Métis-Saulteaux curator, award-nominated editor, award-nominated writer and McGill Art History Ph.D. student. They currently hold the position of Editor-at-Large for Canadian Art.  Their forthcoming memoir, nîtisânak, is to be released in September 2018 through Metonymy Press. Their writing has appeared in Malahat Review, Room, GUTS, Mice, esse, The Inuit Art Quarterly, Teen Vogue, and other publications.

 

Sarah Biscarra Dilley (b. 1986, unceded Nisenan land) is a  multidisciplinary artist, emerging scholar, and member of the yak tityu tityu yak tiłhini Northern Chumash tribe currently residing in xučyun/Oakland, the unceded homeland of the Chochenyo (Ohlone) people.

Her interdisciplinary process explores the spaces between the worlds; between grief and joy, between body and land, between words and meaning(s), across oceans and between waterways. Being raised in Chumash, Chicanx, and queer family traditions, between urban and rural environments, directly informs her understandings of embodiment and place as spatial, temporal and grounded in relationship.

 

Dayna Danger is a 2Spirit/Queer, Metis/Saulteaux/Polish visual artist raised in so called Winnipeg, MB. Using photography, sculpture, performance and video, Dayna Danger‘s practice questions the line between empowerment and objectification by claiming space with her larger than life scale work.

Danger’s current use of BDSM and beading leather fetish masks explores the complicated dynamics of sexuality, gender, and power in a consensual and feminist manner. Danger is currently based in Tio'tia:ke.

Danger holds a MFA in Photography from Concordia University. Danger has exhibited her work in Santa Fe, Winnipeg, Ottawa, Montreal, Peterborough, North Bay, Vancouver, Edmonton and Banff. Danger currently serves as a board member for the Aboriginal Curatorial Collective (ACC/CCA).

 





Photo credit: Sarah Biscarra Dilley, tʸiptukɨłhɨwatʸiptutʸɨʔnɨ (2018), video still.

Kama La Mackerel is a tio’tia:ke/Montreal-based performer, writer, story-teller, arts facilitator and multi-disciplinary artist whose work explores aesthetic practices as forms of resistance and/or healing for marginalized communities. Using photography, poetry, textiles, performance and digital arts, Kama's work is both deeply personal and political, articulating an anti-colonial praxis through cultural production. Kama is the co-founder of Qouleur, an annual arts festival and healing space by and for queer and trans artists of colour, and the founder & hostess of GENDER B(L)ENDER, Montréal’s monthly queer open stage. Kama was born in Mauritius, immigrated to India as a young adult, and has been living in tio’tia:ke/Montréal since 2012. Kama recently launched Our Bodies, Our Stories, an arts and performance training and mentorship program for queer and trans youth of colour aged 16-24, and she is also working on her new one-woman spoken-word show.

 

Arielle Twist is a writer and sex educator from George Gordon First Nation, Saskatchewan, currently living in Halifax, Nova Scotia. She is a Cree, Two-Spirit, trans femme supernova writing to reclaim and harness ancestral magic and memories.

Within her first year of pursuing writing she has been able to attend Naked Heart the largest LGBTQ literary festival in the world and has attended a residency at Banff Centre for the Arts and Creativity. She has work published/forthcoming with Them, Canadian Art, Fiddlehead and Prism International. Her debut collection of poetry ‘Disintegrate/Dissociate’ is forthcoming Spring 2019 with Arsenal Pulp Press.

 

Amber Williams-King is a multi-disciplinary Antiguan artist practicing in Toronto. She uses various mediums to explore sexuality, gender, representation and the intersections of identity, while intimately chronicling her experiences as a chronically-ill Black queer femme. Amber has exhibited across the city and has upcoming shows in Montreal and the Caribbean.

Skip to Content

The Ethical Etherealness of Fuck and Love
Lindsay Nixon (Montréal, QC), commissaire
Sarah Biscarra Dilley (xučyun/Oakland, CA)
Dayna Danger (Montreal, QC; from Winnipeg, MB)
Kama La Mackerel (Montreal, QC)
Arielle Twist (Halifax, NS; from George Gordon First Nation)
Amber Williams-King (Toronto, ON)

Exposition du 21 septembre au 19 octobre 2018
Vernissage 21 septembre, 18h à 21h
Présentation d'artiste 18 octobre, 18h à 21h

The Ethical Etherealness of Fuck and Love

« Pourquoi n'utilises-tu jamais ta force contre moi? » dit-elle.
« Parce que l'amour signifie renoncer à la force, » dit Franz doucement.

— Milan Kundera, L'Insoutenable légèreté de l'être

Sorée pas sorée : Kundera était un fucking trou de cul. Si quelqu'un demande d'être giflé au visage à répétition pour pouvoir jouir son jus partout sur ton plancher de chambre, la ruelle que vous êtes en train de souiller, ou n'importe où, t'es mieux de tabasser comme du monde ce beau bébé sub — si tu y consens, bien sûr; ou si tu ne consens pas, mais que t'aimes ça de même.

Kundera était rien qu'un autre petit gars blanc qui puisait dans les savoirs séculaires sur l'éternel recommencement, contenus dans les histoires du jaïnisme, de l'hindouisme, du sikhisme, des enseignements autochtones de l'Île de la Tortue, et du bouddhisme, rien que pour pouvoir coloniser sa logik amoureuse éthique avec sa propre marque d'existentialisme masturbatoire. Je sais que tu pensais pas qu'un petit gars blanc avait inventé cette shit-là ? [i]

Mais on ne vit rien qu'une fois, s'est-il lamenté, le temps est linéaire, dah. Soré, Kunie, tellement t'es ordinaire. Avec notre Mère, nous vivons pour toujours. Laissons dire à un fuckboï que si nous, en tant qu'humains, qui ignorons les conséquences, ne pouvons jamais savoir si nos décisions sont bonnes ou mauvaises. Nous pouvons toujours enraciner nos actions dans la bonne intention et l'amour, comme le disent les enseignements de nos matantes. Un fuckboï dit la légèreté, là où j'argumente que l'appel de l'empathie n'est pas insoutenable, mais en lui-même, doux. Savoir, accepter, la lourdeur de la continuité, pour toujours, est, en effet, une foi amoureuse.

Certains ont demandé si l'amour éthique n'était qu'une difficulté empruntée aux existentialistes, qui déambulent dans une quelconque cité Canadienne-Française avec un tatou de Camus et un exemplaire décrépit de L'Insoutenable légèreté de l'être dans leur poche arrière — un fuckboï Franz des temps modernes. Ne déforme pas tout, le corps de couleur, éthéré, à la fois ancien et actuel, est un vaisseau pour amour et cul éthique originaux [ii] qui ont toujours existé en territoires occupés.

« The Ethical Etherealness of Fuck and Love » reprend l'éthique de l'intimité et de la relationnalité aux petits gars blancs trop légers pour garder les pieds sur terre — Kundera, Nietzche, Bourriaud. Oui, le colonialisme global a interrompu nos modes de vie traditionnels — nos manières d'aimer et d'être aimé.e.s. Nous sommes écœuré.e.s d'un projet extractiviste suprémaciste blanc qui a causé la perte de notre connexion à la terre et, avec elle, notre connectivité avec toute la vie autour de nous et notre compréhension de comment cette connexion est nourrie par l'amour. Mais c'est précisément pourquoi l'amour est politique, celui que nous activons en investissant les technologies anciennes — notre culture matérielle. Nos parentés sacrées et les relationnalités sont codées en nous, câblées dans nos corps. Pour elles, nous créons quelque chose qui est à la fois futuriste et à l'ancienne, que nous incarnons. Nous sommes les enfants de la diaspora, nous aimant, nous fourrant, nous guérissant dans le futur.

Pas plus que le temps humain n'a jamais été linéaire, l'amour humain, le cul humain n'ont jamais été contenus par la forme physique de l'humanité. Nous sommes des fantômes, éthéré.e.s, hantant les territoires colonisés avec un amour qui ne s'en ira tout simplement pas. Parce que nous savons que l'amour est lourd, oh si lourd. Nous fourrons jusqu'au lever du soleil. Nous viendrons jusqu'à ce que le monde finisse et que tout s'effondre dans la noirceur, trou confortable[iii]. Nous aimons nos corps à nouveau vivants. Parce que ce soir, nous sommes infini.e.s. Ainsi parlait karma sutra[iv].

 

 

[i] Une référence au film Le Tout pour le tout (2000).
[ii] NDT « O.G. » pour « Original Gangster » dans le texte original.
[iii] Une référence à Koko, le gorille parlant la langue des signes, tel que raconté par sa gardienne Francine Patterson.
[iv] Un jeu avec Ainsi parlait Zarathoustra de Nietzsche.

Texte traduit de l'anglais par Princesse Lamarche.

 

 

 

Lindsay Nixon est commissaire Cris-Métis-Saulteaux, rédactrice.teur et auteur.e nominé.e à plusieurs prix et poursuit actuellement un doctorat en histoire de l'art à l’université McGill. Son futur mémoire, nîtisânak, sortira en septembre 2018 via Metonymy Press. Nixon occupe actuellement un poste d’éditorialiste pour le Canadian Art. Ses  écrits ont été publiés dans Malahat Review, Room, GUTS, Mice, esse, The Inuit Art Quarterly et Teen Vogue, entre autres.

 

Sarah Biscarra Dilley (née en 1986, territoire non cédé de Nisenan) est une artiste multidisciplinaire, universitaire émergente, membre de la tribu nordique Chumash yak tityu tityu yak tiłhini et réside actuellement à xučyun / Oakland, territoire non cédé du peuple Chochenyo (Ohlone).

Son processus interdisciplinaire explore les espaces entre les mondes; entre chagrin et joie, entre corps et terre, entre mots et sens, à travers les océans et entre les cours d'eau. Ses compréhensions de l'incorporalité et du lieu comme étant spatiaux, temporels et fondés sur des relations, sont directement informés par le fait d’avoir été élevée dans des traditions familiales Chumash, Chicanx et queer, entre des environnements urbains et ruraux.

 

Dayna Danger est artiste visuelle 2Spirit / Queer, Métis / Saulteaux / Polonaise qui a grandi à Winnipeg. Par l'utilisation de la photographie, la sculpture, la performance et la vidéo, la pratique de Dayna Danger remet en question la ligne entre l’autonomisation et l’objectivation en revendiquant l'espace par son travail plus grand que nature.

L’utilisation actuelle que fait Danger du BDSM et des masques fétiches de cuir perlé explore les dynamiques complexes de la sexualité, du genre et du pouvoir de manière consensuelle et féministe. Danger est actuellement basée à Tio'tia: ke.

Danger est titulaire d'une maîtrise en photographie de l'Université Concordia. Danger a exposé son travail à Santa Fe, Winnipeg, Ottawa, Montréal, Peterborough, North Bay, Vancouver, Edmonton et Banff. Danger est actuellement membre du conseil du Collectif conservateur autochtone (ACC / CCA).

 

 

 

Crédit photo: Sarah Biscarra Dilley, tʸiptukɨłhɨwatʸiptutʸɨʔnɨ (2018), video still.

Kama La Mackerel est interprète, écrivaine, conteuse, facilitatrice artistique et artiste multidisciplinaire basée à tio’tia:ke/Montreal dont le travail explore les pratiques esthétiques en tant que formes de résistance et/ou de guérison pour les communautés marginalisées. Par l'utilisation de la photographie, la poésie, le textile, la performance et les arts numériques, le travail de Kama est à la fois profondément personnel et politique, articulant une praxis anti-coloniale à travers la production culturelle. Kama est co-fondatrice de Qouleur, un festival artistique annuel et un espace de guérison par et pour les artistes de la musique queer et trans, et fondatrice et hôtesse de GENDER B(L)ENDER, open scene queer mensuelle de Montréal. Kama est née à l'Île Maurice, a immigré en Inde en tant que jeune adulte et vit à Montréal depuis 2012. Kama a récemment lancé Our Bodies, Our Stories, un programme de formation et de mentorat en arts et performance pour des jeunes queer et trans de couleur âgés de 16 à 24 ans. Elle travaille également sur son nouveau one-woman spoken-word show.

 

Arielle Twist est écrivaine et éducatrice sexuelle de la Première nation George Gordon, en Saskatchewan, et vit actuellement à Halifax, en Nouvelle-Écosse. Cree, Two-Spirit, trans femme Supernova qui écrit pour réclamer se rattacher aux magies et souvenirs ancestraux.

Au cours de sa première année d'écriture, elle a pu assister à Naked Heart, le plus grand festival littéraire LGBTQ au monde et a participé à une résidence au Banff Centre for the Arts and Creativity. Elle a publié et publiera auprès de Them, Canadian Art, Fiddlehead et Prism International. Son premier recueil de poèmes "Disintegrate / Dissociate" est à venir au printemps 2019 avec Arsenal Pulp Press.

 

Amber Williams-King est une artiste multidisciplinaire antiguaise basée à Toronto. Travaillant sur divers supports, elle considère les médias mixtes comme un moyen de reconnaître la multiplicité et la fluidité de l'être. Cette pratique autodidacte cherche à défier les notions d'une expérience monolithique noire; explorer la sexualité, le genre, la race, la représentation et les intersections de l'identité. En 2017, elle a été finaliste du prix Emerging Artist Award du Toronto Arts Foundation.