From October 28 2013 to November 02 2013

The Barbarian Contagions

MFA Project

Marie Dauverné

Exhibition October 28th to November 2nd
Finissage Friday, November 1st, 5-7pm
 

The space between the mountains of my childhood and Montreal, is packed with unresolved, lumpy matter - issues of sexuality, death and religion in particular. Don’t be surprised if in my position, these are ongoing. Lesbomontagnarde, mountainqueer, degendered, transnational chamois: I make suggestions, of what you sometimes may want to call me.

The discourse that insults our ability to take people for what they are, with all that they have lived, their values, as different as they are - I say no! Enough! Stop! Basta! Enough! Those damn speeches I hear everywhere in the media, in discussions daily. I cannot get stuck with all that and then go draw a pretty snowcovered landscape (I love snowy landscapes, I don’t have snobby attitudes). So yes, scoop: a social context, it changes. And history, it is written. After that, the question is always who holds the pencil. Anyway, there is always someone to worry about when everything going (badly) ends. We feel it. It is a little tense. It is polarized. It touts an "us" and "them" identity, from exclusive charters galore (especially without a piece of cloth), to borders, quotas, forms with two boxes - no gender choice. You will understand, this type of speech (yes, those who use the big words such as Eurocentric, neo-colonial, patriarchal heterocentric, white), I want to bite into it.

Transnational mountain animal adapted to an urban environment, I consider myself an ally artist. Through drawing, video and installation, I create stories from parts of my life, "official" history and latest gossip of a neighbour. Because one must make one's voice heard - mine is queer - in a bit of a reactionary context, in which I bathe with my friend - es. My stories, more or less crazy, have mainly been seen in galleries and video festivals in Montreal and led me to perform with a rag puppet in New York, Geneva, Toronto through out of the way mountain valleys in France and Quebec.

Skip to Content

Les contagions barbares
Exposition de maîtrise
Marie Dauverné

Exposition 28 octobre au 2 novembre
Finissage vendredi 1er novembre, 17h-19h
 

Entre mes montagnes natales et Montréal, y'a un paquet d'affaires en grumeau, pas toujours digérées. Des questions de sexe, de mort et de religion en particulier. Ne fais pas l'étonné-e : dans ma position, c'est toujours d'actualité. Lesbomontagnarde, mountainqueer, chamois dégenré transnational : je te fais des propositions, des fois que tu voudrais m'appeler.
 

Les discours qui insultent notre capacité à respecter les personnes pour ce qu'elles sont, avec leur bagage de vécu, de valeurs – aussi différentes soient-elles – je dis non! Assez! Stop! Basta! Enough!  Ces maudits discours, je les entends partout. Dans les médias, dans l'opinion, dans les discussions au quotidien. Je ne peux quand même pas me ramasser avec ça, puis aller dessiner un joli paysage enneigé (j'aime beaucoup les paysages enneigés, qu'on ne me prête pas de snobs intentions). Alors oui, scoop :  un contexte social, ça change. Et l'histoire, ça s'écrit. Après, la question c'est toujours de savoir qui tient le crayon. De toutes façons, il y a toujours quelqu'un pour s'inquiéter de quand tout ça va (mal) se terminer. On le sent, c'est un peu crispé. Ça se polarise. Ça se gargarise de «  eux » , de «  nous » , d'identité avec un grand «  L' » , de chartes exclusives à gogo (et surtout sans aucun morceau de tissu), de frontières, de quotas, de formulaires à deux cases – genre pas de choix. Tu l'auras compris : ce type de discours (oui, ceux qui appellent les gros mots comme eurocentré, néocolonial, patriarcal, hétérocentré, blanc), j'ai envie de mordre dedans.

Animal montagnard transnational adapté au milieu urbain, je me considère comme une artiste alliée. En dessin, vidéo et installation, je crée des histoires à partir de pans de ma vie, de l’histoire « officielle » et des derniers potins de la voisine. Parce qu'il faut bien faire entendre sa voix - la mienne est queer - face au contexte un brin réac' dans lequel je baigne avec mes ami-e-s. Mes histoires plus ou moins loufoques ont principalement été vues en galerie et lors de festivals vidéo à Montréal, et m'ont menée à performer avec une bibitte en chiffon à New York, Genève, Toronto, en passant par des fonds de vallées bien reculés en France et au Québec.