Skip to Content

Mémoires à décharger
Kesso (Montréal)

Résidence de performance July 3 to 17, 2017
Finissage Friday, July 14, from 5pm to 7pm

The artist will be present at the gallery every day of the residency from 2pm to 6pm

"I come to free myself from the heavy memory of pleasure. If the memory expresses itself in layers, I come successively until I am almost entirely stripped. Let the bed sheets shelter my naked body. This ardour serves no purpose as I remain riveted by memory in spite of these bodily escapes. Today I can feel that memory is my most precious disaster." Fragments détachés du plaisir (Fragments detached from pleasure). 2015. L-A D.

During this performance residency, the artist will free herself of the burden of certain memories that she has been carrying over many years. Themes including grief, trauma, pleasure, absence, and loneliness will be worked through, narrated, and exorcised. Through an improvisational process, the artist will construct patchworks on the floor of the gallery, tearing apart clothing and stitching it together in a new form. From there, her body, saturated with a multiplicity of narratives and actions to be shed in the space, will itself become a material for composition, producing something more charged and concentrated than that with which she arrived at the beginning of the residency.

Kesso is an artist and a poet of Guinean and Quebecois origin. Born in Labé (Republic of Guinea), she was raised in Quebec and New York by her father's family following his death. Her mother made the difficult decision to return to Guinea alone to allow her daughter to be “libre de faire ce qu’elle veut de sa vie” (free to make what she wants of her life). Over the years, her mother sent her garments and fabrics from her homeland, which the artist now integrates into her artworks. Her Quebecois mother taught her sewing and embroidery, two techniques that are central to her creative process. The artist perceives her practice - which for her is as much a part of her life as breathing - as a way to mend the blanks, holes and rifts in her personal history by generating new memories through drawing, text and textile. These memories, often (auto)biographical, are intimately related to her through the materials she wears, touches and transforms.

www.kessoart.com


 

Please click below to see full size images
Mémoires à décharge
Mémoires à décharge
Mémoires à décharge
Mémoires à décharge
Mémoires à décharge
Mémoires à décharge
Mémoires à décharge
Mémoires à décharge
See video

Skip to Content

Mémoires à décharger
Kesso (Montréal)

Résidence de performance du 3 au 17 juillet 2017
Finissage Vendredi 14 juillet, 17h à 19h

L'artiste sera présente en galerie à tous les jours de la résidence, entre 14h et 18h

 « Je jouis pour m’affranchir de la lourde mémoire du plaisir. Si elle s’exprime par couches, je jouis successivement jusqu’à me dénuder presque entièrement. Que les draps abrillent mon corps dépouillé. C’est une fougue inutile car malgré ces fuites du corps, la mémoire me rive toujours au temps. Aujourd’hui, je le sens, la mémoire est mon désastre le plus précieux. » Fragments détachés du plaisir. 2015. L-A D.

Au cours de cette résidence-performance, l’artiste se libèrera du fardeau de certaines mémoires qu’elle porte en elle depuis plusieurs années. Deuils, traumatismes, jouissances, absences, solitudes… Autant de thèmes qui seront travaillés, narrés, exorcisés. L’artiste construira des patchworks à même le sol de la galerie, dans un processus improvisationnel, à partir de vêtements qu’elle déchirera puis recoudra ensemble, différemment. Dès lors, son corps, saturé d’une multiplicité de récits et de gestes à déverser dans l’espace, deviendra un matériau avec lequel elle composera afin de produire quelque chose de plus vif et de plus dense que ce avec quoi elle sera arrivée au début de la résidence.

Kesso est une artiste et poète d’origines guinéenne et québécoise. Née à Labé (République de Guinée), elle a grandi au Québec et à New York dans la famille de son père, suite à son décès. Sa mère, repartie seule en Guinée, a fait ce choix difficile pour que sa fille « soit libre de faire ce qu’elle veut de sa vie ». Au fil des ans, elle lui a envoyé des habits et tissus du pays natal, que l’artiste intègre dans ses œuvres. Sa mère québécoise lui a appris la couture et la broderie, deux techniques centrales à sa création. L’artiste perçoit sa pratique, qu’elle met sur le même plan que son existence, comme une manière de repriser les blancs, les trous et les fissures de son histoire en générant de nouvelles mémoires par le biais du dessin, du texte et du textile. Ces mémoires, souvent (auto)biographiques, lui sont intimement reliées par le biais des matériaux qu’elle porte, touche et transforme.

www.kessoart.com

 

 

Cliquez pour voir le travail de l'artiste
Mémoires à décharge
Mémoires à décharge
Mémoires à décharge
Mémoires à décharge
Mémoires à décharge
Mémoires à décharge
Mémoires à décharge
Mémoires à décharge
See video