From August 04 2016 to August 26 2016

Ok lucid

Ianna Book (Montréal)

Vitrine project from August 4 to 26, 2016
Opening / Performance Friday August 5, 6pm to 9pm

Ok Lucid an aesthetic research project in which Ianna Book explores public perceptions of her transsexuality through an online dating site. It is a moment of clarity. The interaction takes shape inside a space of seduction through an abundance of messages received as an apparent cisgender woman. Her responses to these messages reveal herself as a transsexual woman. Of all the men who contacted her : 50% have stopped writing to her 20% are curious, 10 % are confused, 10% are seduced, 9% are negative and 1% others.

*For reasons of anonymity, all names in this work are fictional.

This work in progress will continue to be fed on the opening night during a performance which will consist in live interraction with people connected on the online dating site. As my laptop will be connected to a projector, public will be allowed to follow my discussions and witness my reactions. New messages will be added to the installation.

Ianna Book is a multidisciplinary artist and transsexual activist who lives and works in Montreal, QC, Canada. She studied visual arts at the Cégep du Vieux-Montreal (1997-2000) and Visual and Media Arts at the Université du Québec à Montréal (2001-2005). Her works have been presented as part of several group exhibitions in Canada and in the United States. In 2013, she published Trans Avenue, a photographic essay combining transsexuality and urbanity. She thereafter curated Trans Time, the first international exhibition of trans artists in Montreal, in collaboration with Virginie Jourdain and Marie-Claude G. Olivier. In 2016, she presents a solo exhibition at Leslie and Lohman Museum in New York. Ianna is also part of the selection of the Elizabeth A. Sackler Center for Feminist Art at the Brooklyn Museum.

Skip to Content

Ok lucid
Ianna Book (Montréal)

Projet de vitrine du 4 au 26 août 2016
Vernissage / Performance vendredi 5 août, 18h à 21h

Ok Lucid est une recherche esthétique dans laquelle Ianna Book explore les perceptions du public sur sa transsexualité par l’entremise d’un site de rencontre en ligne. Il s’agit d’un moment de lucidité. L’interaction prend forme dans l’espace de séduction par de nombreux messages reçus en tant que femme à priori cisgenre. L’expérience consiste par la suite à se dévoiler en tant que femme transsexuelle. Sur l’ensemble des hommes qui l’ont contactée :  50% ont cessé de lui écrire, 20% sont curieux, 10% sont confus, 10% sont séduits, 9% sont négatifs et 1% autres.

*Par respect d’anonymat, tous les noms présentés dans cette oeuvres sont fictifs.

Cette œuvre en évolution continuera de se faire alimenter le soir du vernissage, lors d'une performance qui consistera à interagir en direct avec des personnes du site de rencontre. Comme mon ordinateur portable sera branché sur un projecteur, le public pourra suivre mes échanges et être témoin de mes réactions. Les nouveaux messages seront ajoutés à l'installation.

 

Ianna Book est une artiste multidisciplinaire et militante transsexuelle qui vit et travaille à Montréal, QC, Canada. Elle a étudié en arts plastiques au Cégep du Vieux-Montréal (1997-2000) ainsi qu’en arts visuels et médiatiques à l’Université du Québec à Montréal (2001-2005). Ses oeuvres ont été présentées dans le cadre de plusieurs expositions collectives au Canada et aux États-Unis. En 2013, elle publie Trans Avenue, un essaie photographique jumelant transsexualité et urbanité. Elle organise par la suite Trans Time, la toute première exposition internationale d’artistes trans à Montréal, en collaboration avec Virginie Jourdain et Marie-Claude G. Olivier. En 2016, elle présente une exposition solo au Leslie and Lohman museum à New York. Ianna fait aussi partie de la sélection du Elisabeth A. Sackler Center for Feminist Art du Brooklyn Museum.

 

Cliquez pour voir le travail de l'artiste
Ok lucid
Ok lucid
Ok lucid
Ok lucid