Skip to Content

CRVENA (Sarajevo), MSU, Musée d’art contemporain (Zagreb) et Nona Residency (Sarajevo)
Crossed residency programm in performance art
Montréal - Zagreb - Sarajevo
Lala Raščić (Sarajevo)

In performance residency at La Centrale from June 11 to June 30, 2018

As part of the crossed residency programm in performance art between La Centrale and organism dedicated to art and culture CRVENA (Sarajevo) in collaboration with the MSU, Museum of Contemporary Art (Zagreb) :

La Centrale will be hosting artist Lala Raščić from June 11 to June 30, for a performance residency in the gallery space.

 

In her research-based practice, Lala Raščić have been interested in the modes of performing text, reflected by her interest in myth, ancient and contemporary/digital storytelling practices, oral histories, and the art of the monodrama. Her work often takes the form of installation, video-performance, object and live performance.

As a headstrong re-traditionalization of our societies progresses, she feels an urgency to remember the archetypes established in myth and tale; re-tell them and divorce them from the normalized, patriarchal, interpretations, as a means of asserting new storylines and insurgent emancipatory plots into the grand narrative that will become our legends of morrow.

 

Lala Raščić is a multimedia artist living and working in Zagreb, Sarajevo, and New Orleans. Lala’s work has been presented internationally at numerous solo and group exhibitions, while her works are part of public collections such as the Museum of Contemporary Art in Zagreb, and New Orleans Museum of Art. She is a graduate of the Academy of Fine art Zagreb and has attended artist-in-residence programs that include Rijksakademie, Amsterdam; Platform Garanti, Istanbul; KulturKontakt, Vienna, and Cité des Arts, Paris. She extends her activity in the arts as being an engaged member of CRVENA and the artist-run Good Children Gallery in New Orleans. Lala’s upcoming projects include two solo exhibitions in Croatia and the ongoing work on her project EUROPA ENTERPRISE.

 

 

La Centrale would like to thank le Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec and le Conseil des Arts de Montréal.

Skip to Content

CRVENA (Sarajevo), MSU, Musée d’art contemporain (Zagreb) et Nona Residency (Sarajevo)
Résidence croisée de performance
Montréal - Zagreb - Sarajevo
Lala Raščić (Sarajevo)

En résidence de performance à La Centrale du 11 au 30 juin 2018

Dans le cadre du programme de résidence croisée en performance entre La Centrale et l’organisme dédié à l’art et la culture CRVENA (Sarajevo) en collaboration avec le MSU, Musée d’art contemporain (Zagreb) :

La Centrale accueille, du 11 au 30 juin prochain, l’artiste Lala Raščić pour une résidence de performance en galerie.

 

Dans sa pratique basée sur la recherche, Lala Raščić interroge l'interprétation performative de texte, sa démarche reflète son intérêt pour le mythe, les pratiques de narration anciennes et contemporaines / numériques, les histoires orales et l'art du monodrame. Son travail prend souvent la forme d'installation, de performance vidéo, d’objet et de performance.

« En constatant la progression d’une re-traditionalisation entêtée de nos sociétés, je ressens l'urgence de se souvenir des archétypes établis à travers le mythe et le conte; Distanciez-les et répudiez-les des interprétations normatives et patriarcales, comme un moyen d'affirmer de nouvelles intrigues et de complots d'émancipation qui s’insurgent du grand récit et qui deviendront nos légendes de demain. »

 

Lala Raščić est une artiste multimédia qui vit et travaille à Zagreb, Sarajevo et à la Nouvelle-Orléans. Le travail de Lala a été présenté internationalement à de nombreuses expositions individuelles et collectives, ses œuvres font partie de collections publiques telles que le Musée d'Art Contemporain de Zagreb et le Musée d'Art de la Nouvelle-Orléans. Elle est diplômée de l'Académie des Beaux-Arts de Zagreb et a participé à de nombreuses résidences, dont Rijksakademie, Amsterdam; Plate-forme Garanti, Istanbul; KulturKontakt, Vienne, et Cité des Arts, Paris. Elle est membre active de CRVENA et est aussi impliquée à la Good Children Gallery, centre d’artistes à la Nouvelle-Orléans. Les prochains projets de Lala comprennent deux expositions individuelles en Croatie et le travail en cours sur son projet EUROPA ENTERPRISE.

 

 

La Centrale remercie chaleureusement le Conseil des Arts et des Lettres du Québec et le Conseil des Arts de Montréal pour leur soutien.