The May 01 2020

Mushroom Erotics

An online event of academic presentations and performances

Friday, May 1 from 6 p.m. to 9:30 p.m.

Mushroom Erotics is an event organized by Mycelium, a student in Interdisciplinary Studies in Sexuality at Concordia, as part of an end of baccalaureate practicum at La Centrale Galerie Powerhouse, offering both academic presentations and performances.

Using an ecosexual framework, Mycelium has gathered artists and speakers invested in new imaginings for the post-apocalyptic present. Together, they tackle issues of environmental justice, new technologies and healing.

The financial support of Concordia Student Union (CSU) and Simone De Beauvoir Institute (SDBI) made it possible to remunerate the participants.

Link to attend the event online on zoom

  • 18h: "Mycelium", DOT DOT DOT
  • 18h15: "Mushroom Erotics", Mycelium
  • 19h15: Entretien avec Aron Rosenberg ("2020 Offline") + Q&A
  • 20h15: Entretien avec Lourdenie Jean ("L'environnement c'est intersectionnel") + Q&A
  • 20h15: "Butterfly Garden", Cavity

a fairytale for earthly survival
un appel bilingual & bisexual à la dévotion
an ecosexual prayer of repair
a moment of digital intimacy
2 make u horny 4 environmental justice
te rendre bien dur.e & bien mouillé.e comme l'écorce d'un arbre après la pluie

The Kanien’kehá:ka Nation is recognized as the custodians of the lands and waters on which the organizer and participants for this online event gather today. Tiohtiá:ke/Montreal is historically known as a gathering place for many First Nations. We urge you to learn more about the continued impact of colonization on Indigenous populations and on the land of so-called Canada. We commit to directing you to resources if you need them. We also wish to acknowledge that thousands of Black people have been displaced and enslaved on this land, tending to fields and building infrastructure among other forms of coerced labour.

To fuel your reflections on the question of decolonization in cyberspace, we suggest checking out CyberPowWow and the work of artist Skawennati

Image : "A Fairy Ring", Walter Jenks Morgan

Du 01 mai 2020 au 01 mai 2020

Mushroom Erotics

Un événement en ligne de présentations académiques et de performances

Vendredi 1er mai de 18h à 21h30

Mushroom Erotics est un événement bilingue organisé par Mycelium, un.e étudiant.e en Interdisciplinary Studies in Sexuality à Concordia, dans le cadre d'un practicum de fin de baccalauréat à La Centrale galerie Powerhouse, proposant à la fois des présentations académiques et des performances.

Avec une approche écosexuelle, Mycelium a réuni des artistes et des intervenant.es créant des alternatives au présent post-apocalyptique. Ensemble, iels s'intéressent à des questions de justice environnementale, de nouvelles technologies et de guérison.

Le soutien financier de Concordia Student Union (CSU) et de Simone De Beauvoir Institute (SDBI) a permis de rémunérer les participant.e.s.

Lien pour assister à l'événement en ligne sur zoom

  • 18h: "Mycelium", DOT DOT DOT
  • 18h15: "Mushroom Erotics", Mycelium
  • 19h15: Entretien avec Aron Rosenberg ("2020 Offline") + Q&A
  • 20h15: Entretien avec Lourdenie Jean ("L'environnement c'est intersectionnel") + Q&A
  • 20h15: "Butterfly Garden", Cavity

a fairytale for earthly survival
un appel bilingual & bisexual à la dévotion
an ecosexual prayer of repair
a moment of digital intimacy
2 make u horny 4 environmental justice
te rendre bien dur.e & bien mouillé.e comme l'écorce d'un arbre après la pluie

La nation Kanien’kehá: ka est reconnue comme la gardienne des terres et des eaux sur lesquelles l’organisateur et les participants à cet événement en ligne se réunissent aujourd’hui. Tiohtiá: ke / Montréal est historiquement connue comme un lieu de rassemblement pour de nombreuses Premières Nations. Nous vous exhortons à en savoir plus sur l'impact continu de la colonisation sur les populations autochtones et sur les terres du soi-disant Canada. Nous nous engageons à vous orienter vers les ressources si vous en avez besoin. Nous souhaitons également reconnaître que des milliers de personnes Noires ont été déplacés et réduits en esclavage sur cette terre, tendant aux champs et construisant des infrastructures parmi d'autres formes de travail forcé.

Pour alimenter vos réflexions sur la question de la décolonisation dans le cyberespace, vous pouvez consulter CyberPowWow et le travail de l'artiste Skawennati

Image : "A Fairy Ring", Walter Jenks Morgan