The June 03 2006

VIGILANTES : THE DREAM OF REASON

TAGNY DUFF, montreal
ERIN MANNING, montreal
TANIA BRUGERA, havane/chicago

Publication launch / artist talk / reception
Saturday, June 3, 2006, 8pm

On June 3, 2006, La Centrale Powerhouse invites you to a launch, artist talk and reception for Vigilantes: The Dream of Reason. This artist monograph documents a key series of works by Cuban artist Tania Bruguera. The artist will be in attendance.

Between October and November 2004, Tania Bruguera performed various actions aboard United Airlines flights between the US and Canada as part of a Fado residency project and Mois de la Performance entitled TIME ZONES, curated by Tagny Duff. Bruguera explains, "The airplane in motion is the site of these pieces, one with clear restrictions for passengers. Choosing this specific site acknowledges the way planes have become an icon of fear in collective memory in the United States of America." During these flights passengers were invited to both contribute to the form of the actions and to videotape them.


Vigilantes: The Dream of Reason is printed in the form of an airplane ticket. The publication contents include an introductory text and descriptions of the actions by Tania Bruguera. Erin Manning explores the implications of time and suspension in The Weight of Suspension: Tania Bruguera's "Vigilantes" Performances. In the essay Performing Lag Time, Tagny Duff suggests that the inflight actions and their traces produce a lag between movement and stasis, generating an excess that exceeds representation.
The launch will also feature videos taken by passengers during the flights.

Tania Bruguera produces political artworks through installations and performances. Recently she has incorporated the idea of behavior and social conduct as an artistic media. In January 2003 she opened Arte de Conducta, an artistic-pedagogical project in Havana. Currently she is part of the faculty at University of Chicago. Her work has been shown at several international exhibitions including Documenta XI, the 49th and 51st editions of the Venice Biennale, the V and VII Havana Biennale, and the 23rd Sao Paolo Biennale, among others. She has had solo shows at the Kunsthalle Wien, Casa de las Americas, and Museo de Bellas Artes. In 1998 she was a Guggenheim fellow.


Erin Manning is assistant professor in studio art and film studies at Concordia University where she teaches courses at the intersection of philosophy and art practice. Recent publications include Ephemeral Territories: Representing Nation, Home and Identity in Canada (Minnesota UP, 2003) and Politics of Touch: Sense, Movement, Sovereignty (forthcoming 2006, Minnesota UP).


Tagny Duff is an artist, curator, producer, and PhD candidate in the Interdisciplinary Humanities Program at Concordia University. Recent published texts include "FFWD, RWND and Play: Performance art, video, and feminisms in Vancouver" in Caught in the Act: an anthology of performance art by Canadian Women (Ed Tanya Mars and Johanna Householder, YYZ Books) and "Codpieces: Phallic Paraphernalia Revisited" a forthcoming essay included in Fado Inc. Performance Art Legends book series on Canadian artist Tanya Mars.

Fado is pleased to acknowledge the Canada Council, the Ontario Arts Council, the City of Toronto through the Toronto Arts Council, and the Department of Canadian Heritage for their support of our ongoing activities. Fado and the curator would also like to thank The Art Gallery of Hamilton and Art Metrople for their generous support.


La Centrale Galerie Powerhouse would like to thank its members, artists and public, the Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec, the Canada Council for the Arts, the Conseil des arts de Montréal and Les Brasseries GMT for their support of our ongoing activites, as well as the Interarts Office at the Canada Council and the CALQ's Promotion et Diffusion-soutien aux manifestations artistiques program for their generous support of the 6th edition of the Mois de la performance (2004).

VIGILANTES : THE DREAM OF REASON

Du 03 juin 2006 au 03 juin 2006

VIGILANTES : THE DREAM OF REASON

ERIN MANNING, montreal
TAGNY DUFF, montreal
TANIA BRUGERA, havane/chicago

Lancement / Présentation d'artiste / Réception
samedi, 3 juin 2006, 20h

 Le 3 juin, 2006, La Centrale Powerhouse vous invite à une soirée de lancement, de présentation et à une réception pour Vigilantes: The Dream of Reason. Cette monographie d'artiste documente une série d'oeuvres clés par l'artiste cubaine Tania Bruguera. L'artiste sera présente. 

Entre les mois d'octobre et de novembre 2004, Tania Bruguera a réalisé diverses actions à bord de vols United Airlines entre les États-Unis et le Canada, faisant partie d'un projet de résidence intitulé TIME ZONES, avec Fado et La Centrale pour son 6e Mois de la performance, commissarié par Tagny Duff. Bruguera explique, "L'avion en mouvement est le site pour ces pièces, un site avec des restrictions claires pour les passagers. Choisir ce lieu spécifique reconnait la façon dont les avions sont devenus un icône de la peur dans la mémoire collective des États-Unis d'Amérique". Durant ces vols, des passagers étaient invités à contribuer à la forme des actions et à les filmer.


Vigilantes: The Dream of Reason est imprimé dans le format d'un billet d'avion. Le contenu de la publication inclut un texte d'introduction et des descriptions des actions menées par Tania Bruguera. Erin Manning explore les implications du temps et la suspension dans le texte The Weight of Suspension: Tania Bruguera's "Vigilantes" Performances. Dans l'essai Performing Lag Time, Tagny Duff suggère que les actions durant ces vols ainsi que leurs traces produisent un retard entre le mouvement et le statique, générant un excès qui excède la représentation.
Le lancement présentera aussi des vidéos filmés par des passenger durant les vols.
 

Tania Bruguera produit des oeuvres politiques en utilisant l'installation et la performance. Récemment, elle a incorporé l'idée du comportement et de la conduite sociale comme médium artistique. En janvier 2003, elle a ouvert Arte de Conducta, un projet artistique et pédagogique à La Havane. Présentement, elle est membre de la faculté à l'Université de Chicago. Son travail a été présenté dans le cadre de plusieurs expositions internationales dont Documenta XI, la 49e et 51e éditions de la Biennale de Venise, la Ve et la VIIe Biennale de La Havane, et la 23e Biennale de Sao Paolo, parmi d'autres. Elle a réalisé des expositions solo au Kunsthalle Wien, à la Casa de las Americas, et au Museo de Bellas Artes. En 1998, elle était un-e Guggenheim fellow.

Erin Manning est assistante professeur en studio art and film studies à l'Université Concordia où elle donne des cours situés au croisement de la philosophie et de la pratique artistique. Parmi ses publications les plus récentes, l'on compte Ephemeral Territories: Representing Nation, Home and Identity in Canada (Minnesota UP, 2003) et Politics of Touch: Sense, Movement, Sovereignty (sortie prévue en 2006, Minnesota UP).

Tagny Duff est une artiste, commissaire, productrice et candidate au Doctorat dans le programme Interdisciplinary Humanities à l'Université Concordia. Parmi ses textes récemment publiés, l'on compte "FFWD, RWND and Play: Performance art, video, and feminisms in Vancouver" dans Caught in the Act: an anthology of performance art by Canadian Women (Ed. Tanya Mars et Johanna Householder, YYZ Books) et "Codpieces: Phallic Paraphernalia Revisited" un essai sur l'artiste canadienne Tanya Mars qui paraîtra prochainement dans la série de publication Fado Inc. Performance Art Legends.


Fado a le plaisir de remercier le Conseil des arts du Canada, le Conseil des arts de l'Ontario, le Conseil des arts de Toronto, et Patrimoine Canada pour leur soutien des activités courantes. Fado et la commissaire aimerait aussi remercier la Galerie d'art de Hamilton et Art Metrople pour leur généreux soutien.

La Centrale Galerie Powerhouse tient à remercier ses membres, le Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec, le Conseil des arts du Canada, le Conseil des arts de Montréal and Les Brasseries GMT pour leur soutien au fonctionnement du centre, ainsi que le Bureau Inter-arts du CAC et le programme de Promotion et Diffusion-manifestation artistique du CALQ pour leur généreux soutien de la 6e édition du Mois de la performance (2004).

VIGILANTES : THE DREAM OF REASON