The June 09 2018

BLACK MEDECINE : A CONSULTATION

Po B. K. Lomami
Claire Obscure

Intervention / Performance Samedi 9 juin, 14h30 à 16h30

Do you feel systematically uncomforatable when oppressions pop in the conversation ?

Dr Batamu and Dr Voldenoire, experts emeritus in medical intervention, systemic deconstruction and theoretical exorcism in monochrome environment are also well-known and renowned as familiar foreigners in public and Great Replacement agents in the shadows.

As part of their pilote interdisciplinary intervention programme, Dr Batamu and Dr Voldenoire will open their consultation room in the gallery in order to provide short sessions for La Centrale Galerie Powerhouse community and its public.

We encourage you to come to get your diagnosis on Saturday June 9, from 2:30 pm to 4:30 pm at 4296, Saint-Laurent boulevard in Montreal, unceded territory.

Cordially.

Facebook

Po B. K. Lomami and Claire Obscure propose an experimental, performative and collaborative intervention with an afrofeminist and anti-imperialist anchorage. Black medecine : a consultation is a performance of intrusion and interference that aims to turn the context inside out. They want to foster self-examiniation and self-criticism and place the visitors in an ambivalent situation : between the desire to maintain the status quo through denial and the will to get exposed to move forward. By reversing the gaze, the individual experience will lead the audience to reflect on power dynamics, social privilege, under/non-representation of BIPOC (black people, indigenous people and people of color) and institutionnalisation of this feminist place.


Crédits photo Valérie Bah, Po B. K. Lomami, Claire Obscure.

Claire Obscure

Photography, music, video, painting, poetry, sculpture, Claire Obscure identifies as an artivist and keeps pushing her expressive and technical boundaries. Her art is one of an existential struggle evolving in an experimental continuum, from her afrofeminist anti-imperialist plateforme La Toile d’Alma to her current projects. In her short documentary Integrated But Not Assimilated (2016), she invited her mother to tell their story of a lost family heritage in the intimacy of a conversation about transmission. Resilience(s) (2017) displays an unapologetic subjective perspective on the resistance of black women in contemporary France. Claire Obscure now lives in Montreal, works at the feminist bookstore L’Euguélionne while perfecting her visual and performative arts practices.
cl4ire0bscure.com - latoiledalma.wordpress.com

Po B. K. Lomami

Po B. K. Lomami is an Congodesendant (DRC) activist, socio-artistic project programmer and coordinator, performer, writer, musician and zine maker from Belgium. Her work deals with négritude, disability, queerness, diaspora, transmission, loss, alternative with an anticolonial, afrofeminist and anticapitalist agenda. After simultaneously getting a master in business engineering and being involved with LGBT, queer and sexual health organizations for five years, she created several projects including Intersectionnalité TMTC Bruxelles (2015, BE) and EXTRACT (2016, SE). She writes for afro and poc media such as AssiégéEs and Q-zine. Her latest political-artistic work includes the performance Consultation d’une afro-ratée (BE), the zine LITTLE RADICAL SECRET (SE) and the photo-zine project Montreal, 1985 (CA). She currently works at La Centrale as the administrative coordinator and she is a member of articule.
pobklomami.org - equimauves.wordpress.com

Du 09 juin 2018 au 09 juin 2018

BLACK MEDECINE : A CONSULTATION

Claire Obscure
Po B. K. Lomami

Intervention / Performance Samedi 9 juin, 14h30 à 16h30

Éprouvez-vous un malaise systématique dès que les oppressions s’invitent dans la conversation?

Dre Batamu et Dre Voldenoire, expertes émérites en intervention médicale, déconstruction systémique et exorcisme théorique en milieu monochrome sont également connues et reconnues comme étrangères de proximité en public et agentes du grand remplacement dans l'ombre.

Dans le cadre de leur programme d'intervention pilote et interdisciplinaire, Dre Batamu et Dre Voldenoire ouvriront leur cabinet dans la galerie de La Centrale afin de prodiguer des consultations à destination de la communauté de La Centrale Galerie Powerhouse et de son public.

Nous vous encourageons à venir vous faire diagnostiquer le samedi 9 juin 2018, entre 14h30 et 16h30 au 4296, boulevard Saint-Laurent à Montréal, territoire non-cédé.

Cordialement.

Facebook

Po B. K. Lomami et Claire Obscure propose une intervention expérimentale, performative et collaborative avec un ancrage afroféministe et anti-impérialisme. Black medecine : a consultation est une performance d’intrusion et d’ingérence qui vise à retourner le contexte dans lequel elle prend place. Elles cherchent à générer l’auto-questionnement et l’auto-critique et placent les visiteurs.euses dans une ambivalence entre le désir de maintenir le statu quo par le déni et la volonté de s’exposer pour avancer. En renversant le regard, l’expérience individuelle amènera le public à s’interroger sur les dynamiques de pouvoir, les privilèges sociaux, la sous/non-représentation des racisé.e.s et l’institutionnalisation dans ce lieu féministe.


Crédits photo Valérie Bah, Po B. K. Lomami, Claire Obscure.

Claire Obscure

Photographie, musique, vidéo, peinture, poésie, sculpture, Claire Obscure se définit comme artiviste et repousse sans cesse ses limites techniques et expressives. Elle propose un art en lutte qui évolue dans un continuum expérimental, de sa plateforme afroféministe anti-impérialiste La Toile d’Alma à ses projets actuels.

Dans son court-métrage Intégrée mais pas Assimilée (2016), elle invitait sa mère à se raconter à travers l’intimité d’une conversation sur la transmission d’un héritage familial perdu. Résilience(s) (2017) offre une perspective subjective assumée sur des résistances de femmes noires et afrodescendantes dans la France d’aujourd’hui. Claire Obscure vit à Montréal, travaille à la librairie féministe L’Euguélionne et perfectionne sa pratique des arts visuels et performatifs.
cl4ire0bscure.com - latoiledalma.wordpress.com

Po B. K. Lomami
Po B. K. Lomami est une programmatrice et coordinatrice de projets socio-artistiques, performeuse, écrivaine, musicienne, créatrice de zine et activiste Congodescendante (RDC) de Belgique. Elle traite notamment de négritude, handicap, queer, diaspora, transmission, perte, alternative avec un agenda anticolonial, afroféministe et anticapitaliste. Après avoir simultanément cumulé un master en business engineering et cinq ans d’engagement dans des organizations LGBT, queers et de santé sexuelle, elle crée plusieurs projets comme Intersectionnalité TMTC Bruxelles (2015, BE) et EXTRACT (2016, SE). Ses travaux politico-artistiques comptent entre autres la performance Consultation d’une afro-ratée, le zine LITTLE RADICAL SECRET et le projet photo-zine Montreal, 1985. Elle écrit pour plusieurs médias afro ou racisés dont AssiégéEs et Q-zine. Elle travaille en ce moment à La Centrale en tant que coordinatrice de l'administration et est membre d'articule.
pobklomami.org - equimauves.wordpress.com