From May 23 2014 to June 06 2014

Hot Topic Redux

Kirsten McCrea (Toronto)

Residency in the gallery May 23rd to June 6th, 2014

The artist will be at the gallery:

Tuesday May 27th: 11am to 7pm
Wednesday May 28th: Noon to 6pm
Thursday May 29th: 11am to 7pm
Friday May 30th: FETE PERFORMATIVE - 7pm
Saturday May 31th: 2pm to 5pm

Tuesday June 3rd: 11am to 7pm
Wednesday June 4th: Noon to 6pm
Thursday June 5th: 11am to 7pm
Friday June 6th: 11am to 5pm

Focusing on the idea of archive as collaborative construction, Kirsten McCrea's Hot Topic Redux residency will simultaneously interrogate and create a feminist archive through a series of open discussions with the public. On display will be 'Hot Topic', a series of 60 paintings of feminist icons based on the Le Tigre song of the same name, 'The League of Legendary Ladies', whose oversized faces viewers are invited to pose with, and an evolving text-based installation depicting the names of feminist icons suggested by visitors to the gallery. The artist's final act will be to paint over the list of names, an act symbolic of the erasure feminist history is constantly fighting against.

Kirsten McCrea is a Canadian artist whose work explores issues of cultural memory, looking at pop vs. underground culture, the media, and popular mythologies. Known for her bright colours and figurative subject-matter, Kirsten is quickly establishing herself as a prominent emerging Canadian artist. Primarily a painter, she is also the founder and editor of Papirmasse, an affordable art subscription that sends a monthly print to hundreds of people around the world every month.

Her paintings have been exhibited nationally and her work has been reviewed by The Walrus, Châtelaine, and The Montreal Gazette, amongst others. She has illustrated for the Polaris Music Prize & the Under Pressure Graffiti festival, and her patterned drawings can be found on notebooks and apparel in stores across the country. When not working on her own she collaborates with the art collective Cease and the drawing initiative En Masse, whose work was recently shown in the form of a massive installation in the Musée des Beaux Arts in Montreal. QC.

Du 23 mai 2014 au 06 juin 2014

Hot Topic Redux

Kirsten McCrea (Toronto)

Résidence en galerie 23 mai au 6 juin 2014

L'artiste sera présente à la galerie:

Mardi 27 mai: 11h - 19h
Mercredi 28 mai: 12h - 18h
Jeudi 29 mai: 11h - 19h
Vendredi 30 mai: FETE PERFORMATIVE - 19h
Samedi 31 mai:14h-17h

Mardi 3 juin: 11h - 19h
Mercredi 4 juin: 12h - 18h
Jeudi 5 juin: 11h - 19h
Vendredi 6 juin: 11h-17h

Utilisant l'idée des archives en tant qu'outil de construction collaborative, Kirsten McCrea profite de son projet de résidence Hot Topic Redux pour à la fois, questionner et créer des archives féministes en animant une série de discussions ouvertes avec le public. L'exposition comprendra Hot Topic, une série de 60 peintures portraiturant des icônes féministes extraites de la chanson "The League of Legendary Ladies" de Le Tigre. Les visiteurs seront invités à poser auprès de ces figures et d'une installation textuelle qui dresse une liste des icônes féministes évoluant selon les suggestions des visiteurs de la galerie. L'acte final de l'exposition consistera en une performance durant laquelle l'artiste recouvrira de peinture cette liste de noms, afin de symboliser l'oubli que l'histoire féministe subit et contre laquelle elle lutte continuellement.

Kirsten McCrea est une artiste canadienne basée à Montréal dont l’œuvre explore des problématiques en lien avec la mémoire culturelle, la culture populaire par rapport à la culture alternative, et la mythologie populaire. Reconnaissable grâce à ses couleurs vives et ses sujets figuratifs, Kirsten a rapidement fait sa place sur la scène artistique canadienne. Principalement peintre, elle est aussi la fondatrice et éditrice de Papirmasse, un webzine artistique abordable qui envoie chaque mois des prints à des centaines de personnes à travers le monde.

Ses œuvres ont été exposées dans plusieurs galeries canadiennes, et ont retenu l’attention de divers chroniqueurs écrivant notamment pour The Walrus, Châtelaine, et The Gazette. Elle a travaillé pour le festival Polaris Music Prize & the Under Pressure Graffiti, et ses dessins sont reproduits sur des carnets et des vêtements que l’ont peut retrouver dans différentes boutiques à travers le Canada. Quand elle ne travaille pas sur ses projets personnels, elle collabore avec le collectif artistique Caese, et le groupe de dessin En Masse, dont le travail a récemment été montré sous la forme de grandes installations au Musée des Beaux Arts de Montréal, QC.