From April 15 2011 to May 15 2011

INSIDE THE SOLAR TEMPLE OF THE COSMIC LEATHER DADDY

WILL MUNRO, toronto

Exhibition April 15 to May 15, 2011
Opening Friday April 15, 7pm 
Screening and discussion around the artist's work with 
Luis Jacob, Bernie Bankrupt & GB Jones
Saturday April 16, 3pm 

Will Munro (1975–2010)

BEHOLD THE SOLAR ANUS, THE SUBMISSIVE CHAMBERS OF THE SUN GODDESS, SCORPIO FISTING, THE MEASURE OF SPACE AND TIME, A STALLION BROTHERHOOD, THE HALL OF TWO TRUTHS, MOON-RA RESURRECTION, SLAVE BROTHELS OF LIBERATION, RAMRODS, THE FALCONS OF THE COSMIC UNDERWORLD, MIDNIGHT SUN CONSCIOUSNESS. ETERNAL.


Will Munro was a Toronto-based artist, cultural organizer, activist, deejay, music promoter and restaurant owner. For him, these roles all provided creative platforms from which to make important contributions to the various communities in which he was involved.


Munro’s exhibition Inside the Solar Temple of the Cosmic Leather Daddy combines several of the artist’s interests and obsessions. The spiritual iconography of ancient Egypt meets the Queer leather subculture of the 1970’s. Through worship and remembrance, Munro revisits the lives lost during AIDS epidemic that began in the 1980’s, endows them with a sense of eternal life, and allows them to still be present among us. Spurred by his own battle with terminal illness, he submerged himself in the underworld of temples and glory holes, death and transformation, Kenneth Anger and King Tut, revealing his interest in do-it-yourself techniques and popular culture.  In his artistic work, as in all of his other activities, Munro brought together seemingly disparate references in a unified expression of creativity and community.

Munro’s artistic practice -- well known within the art world, exhibited across Canada and in the US, and reviewed in canadian and international publications -- extended into his community-based activities. His work with sexuality, shame and empowerment is reflected in his involvement with the Lesbian Gay Bi Trans Youth Line (an Ontario-wide peer-support service for lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, transsexual, 2-spirited, queer and questioning young people) where he worked from 1998 to 2008. Considering the relationship between his work with hand-sewn underwear along with his activities as community worker and volunteer, the strong political dimension of Munro’s artistic achievements becomes evident.

Continuing in the footsteps of the artist-collective General Idea -- for whom the creation of works of art was as important as the production of infrastructure for an arts “scene” in Canada -- an significant aspect of Munro’s creative work was Vazaleen, a monthly rock and roll queer event. He started Vazaleen in 2000, and continued this event on a monthly basis for the following seven years.  One of Toronto’s most active promoters of queer culture during the past decade, Munro brought to Toronto such legendary music performers as The Hidden Cameras, Nina Hagen, Kembra Pfahler, Peaches, The Gossip, Jayne County, and Vaginal Creme Davis amongst many others. In his work with Vazaleen (and his other monthly music events) he produced an astonishing amount of artist-multiples and ephemera. Especially noteworthy is Munro’s work with silkscreen posters, produced in the collectively run Punchclock Studio. His silkscreen work was technically ambitious, using multiple screens to create fascinating optical effects. Labour-intensive techniques such as hand-stitching and print-making are also used by Munro both for their inherent aesthetic value and for their association with folk and working-class cultural forms and hardcore punk rock culture.


Iconographically, his work acts as a form of history lesson, making reference to the “whispered histories” of Queer art and activism to create work that is simultaneously artistic production, material culture, and history-writing for sub-alternative communities.  The exhibition Inside the Solar Temple of the Cosmic Leather Daddy brings together Will Munro's diverse interests in a powerful and moving testament of remembrance and survival through artistic creation and community engagement.

Thank you to Margaret and David Munro, the Will Munro Estate, Paul Petro and Andrew Cecil at Paul Petro Contemporary Art, Julia Strutt and Rick Hodges, Emelie Chhangur, Suzanne Carte-Blanchenot, and Philip Monk at the Art Gallery of York University for lending the art work. An enormous thanks to Luis Jacob, as well as Leila Pourtavaf, Cecilia Berkovic, Lex Vaughan and GB Jonesfor their help with the show.

Du 15 avril 2011 au 15 mai 2011

INSIDE THE SOLAR TEMPLE OF THE COSMIC LEATHER DADDY

WILL MUNRO, toronto

Exposition 15 avril au 15 mai 2011
Vernissage vendredi 15 avril, 19h 
Projection et discussion sur le travail de l'artiste avec
Luis Jacob, Bernie Bankrupt & GB Jones 

samedi 16 avril, 15h 

Will Munro (1975–2010)

VOICI L'ANUS SOLAIRE, LES CHAMBRES DE SOUMISSION DE LA DÉESSE DU SOLEIL, « SCORPIO FISTING », LA MESURE DE L'ESPACE ET DU TEMPS, LA FRATERNITÉ DE L'ÉTALON, L'AGORA DES DEUX VÉRITÉS, LA RÉSURRECTION DE MOON-RA, LES BORDELS D'ESCLAVES DE LIBÉRATION, BAGUETTES DE FUSILS, LES FAUCONS DU MONDE COSMIQUE SOUTERRAIN, CONSCIENCE DU SOLEIL DE MINUIT. ÉTERNEL.

Originaire de Toronto, Will Munro était à la fois artiste, organisateur culturel, activiste, d.j, promoteur de concerts et propriétaire de restaurant. Tous ces rôles lui fournissaient des plateformes créatives à partir desquelles il apportait une importante contribution aux différentes communautés dans lesquelles il s’impliquait.


L’exposition « Inside the Solar Temple of the Cosmic Leather Daddy » combine un bon nombre des intérêts et des obsessions de l’artiste. L’iconographie spirituelle de l’Égypte ancienne rencontre la sous-culture cuir et queer des années 1970. À travers la dévotion et la commémoration, Munro revisite les vies perdues pendant l’épidémie du SIDA qui a commencé au début des années 1980 et leur donne la faculté de jouir de la vie éternelle, leur permettant ainsi de rester parmi nous. Sous l’influence de sa propre bataille avec une maladie fatale, il s’est immergé dans un monde souterrain fantastique de temples et « d’orifices glorieux » de mort et de transformation, de Kenneth Anger et de King Tut, révélant ainsi son intérêt pour le d.i.y. et la culture populaire. Dans son travail artistique, comme dans toutes ses autres activités, Munro arrivait à réunir des références apparemment disparates dans une expression singulière de créativité et de communauté.


La pratique artistique de Munro -- bien connue dans le milieu des arts pour avoir été exposée à travers le Canada, les États-Unis et diffusée dans des publications canadiennes et internationales -- se prolongeait dans son implication communautaire. Son travail sur la sexualité, la honte et l’empowerment se reflète dans sa collaboration avec la Lesbian Gay Bi Trans Youth Line (un service de soutien ontarien offert aux jeunes lesbiennes, gays, bisexuel-le-s, transgenres, transsexuels, bispirituels, queer ainsi qu’à ceux qui sont en questionnement) entre 1998 et 2008. Si l’on met en relation les œuvres de Wil Munro, parmi lesquelles figurent des sous-vêtements cousus à la main, avec ses activités comme travailleur communautaire et comme bénévole, la forte dimension politique de ses réalisations artistiques devient évidente.  

Marchant sur les traces du collectif d’artistes General Idea – pour qui la création d’oeuvres d’art était aussi importante que la production d’une infrastructure pour la scène artistique au Canada – Munro a créé Vazaleen, un événement mensuel rock’n’roll et queer, qui représente un des aspects significatifs de son travail. Il a inauguré la soirée en 2000 et l’a continuée pendant les 7 années suivantes. Munro a été l’un des plus actifs promoteurs de la culture queer de la dernière décennie : il a fait venir entre autres à Toronto des performeurs légendaires tels que The Hidden Cameras, Nina Hagen, Kembra Pfahler, Peaches, The Gossip, Jayne County, et Vaginal Creme Davis. Pour Vazaleen (et pour ses autres événements mensuels musicaux), il a produit une quantité impressionnante de multiples et d’œuvres éphémères. Mentionnons spécialement sa réalisation d’affiches sérigraphiées, produites à l’atelier collectif Punchclock Studio. Son travail en sérigraphie était techniquement ambitieux, car il utilisait de multiples écrans afin de créer des effets optiques fascinants. Des techniques artisanales qui exigent beaucoup de travail, telles que la couture à la main et la réalisation d’impressions, étaient utilisées par Munro autant pour leur valeur esthétique que pour leur association avec les culture folklorique, populaire ainsi qu’avec la culture hardcore punk rock.

Iconographiquement, son travail fonctionne comme une leçon d’histoire, faisant référence aux « récits chuchotés » de l’art queer et de l’activisme, afin de créer des oeuvres qui sont à la fois production artistique, matériau culturel et récits historiques pour les communautés alternatives. Cette exposition rassemble les divers intérêts de Will Munro dans un puissant et émouvant témoignage de commémoration et de survie à travers la création artistique et l’engagement communautaire.


Merci à Margaret et David Munro, le Will Munro Estate, Paul Petro et Andrew Cecil à Paul Petro Contemporary Art, Julia Strutt et Rick Hodges, Emelie Chhangur, Suzanne Carte-Blanchenot, et Philip Monk à la Art Gallery of York University pour le prêt des oeuvres. Un énorme merci à Luis Jacob, ainsi qu’à Leila Pourtavaf, Cecilia Berkovic, Lex Vaughan et GB Jones pour leur aide à réalisation de l’exposition.