From June 23 2008 to June 23 2008

Ironic to Iconic: The Performance Works of Tanya Mars

Publication launch

Event June 23 2008

La Centrale Galerie Powerhouse is pleased to announce the launch of Ironic to Iconic: The Performance Works of Tanya Mars, a new book about Tanya Mars, a recipient of the 2008 Governor General’s Award for Visual and Media Art. This is the second publication in Fado’s Canadian Performance Art Legends series.

Ironic to Iconic: The Performance Works of Tanya Mars is a comprehensive look at Tanya’s career, from the 1970s to the present. The book features extensive photo documentation and includes a DVD documenting her site-specific work, Tyranny of Bliss (2004).

Paul Couillard, the former director of Fado and editor of the book, sums up the importance of the artist's work: "Tanya Mars has not only given us enduring images like the fire-breathing Queen Elizabeth I or a dildo-wielding Alice-in-Wonderland; her work also proves that feminism has grown up enough to include humour in its arsenal of weapons. Mars has relentlessly shown us that the best way to the jugular is through the funny bone, creating a series of compelling 'three-dimensional pictures' that have made her one of Canada’s most acclaimed and important performance artists."

About the Artist
Tanya Mars is a feminist, performance and video artist who has been involved in the Canadian art scene since 1973. She was a founding member and director of Powerhouse Gallery (La Centrale), in Montreal, the first women’s art gallery in Canada; editor of Parallelogramme magazine for 13 years; and contributed to ANNPAC (the Association of National Non-Profit Artist-run Centres) for 15 years. Mars’ work is often characterized as visually rich layers of spectacular, satirical feminist imagery. She has performed widely across Canada, in Valparaiso (Chile), Helsinki and Sweden. In 2004 she created and performed Tyranny of Bliss, a 7-hour durational performance involving over 30 performers who created 14 tableaux in-and-around Queens Park, Toronto. She is co-editor, with Johanna Householder, of Caught in the Act: an anthology of performance art by Canadian women (2004), published by YYZ Books. She is also a member of the 7a*11d Collective which produces a bi-annual international festival of performance art in Toronto. She currently teaches performance art and video at the University of Toronto at Scarborough, and is part of the graduate faculty at the University of Toronto. Mars was named Artist of the Year (2004) by the Untitled Arts Awards in Toronto, and in 2008 she received a Governor General Award for Visual and Media Arts. In the autumn of 2008, Mars will be the Canada Council’s International Artist in Residence in Paris, France.

About the Editor
Paul Couillard has been working as an artist and curator since 1985, producing well over 100 solo and collaborative performance works in more than a dozen countries. He was the Performance Art Curator for Fado from its inception in 1993 until 2007, and is also a founding co-curator of Toronto’s 7a*11d International Festival of Performance Art. He is currently teaching at McMaster University, and was the editor of La Dragu: the Living Art of Margaret Dragu (Fado, 2002).

Ironic to Iconic: The Performance Works of Tanya Mars
2008, paperback 286 pp. (includes 32-pp colour section and index)
DVD insert: Documentation of Mars’ 2004 Tyranny of Bliss project
Retail Price: $32.95

Edited by Paul Couillard
Articles: Paul Couillard, Tagny Duff, Jennifer Fisher, Randy Gledhill, Nelson Henricks, Will Kwan, Paul Ledoux, Joanna Nash, Jennifer Oille, John Oughton & Pam Patterson, Andrew James Paterson, Kim Sawchuk, Dot Tuer
Publication Design: Sameer Farooq, NEWINK DVD authoring: Berenicci Hershorn

Du 23 juin 2008 au 23 juin 2008

Ironic to Iconic: The Performance Works of Tanya Mars

Lancement de publication

Événement 23 juin 2008

La Centrale Galerie Powerhouse est fière d’annoncer le lancement de Ironic to Iconic: The Performance Works of Tanya Mars, une publication portant sur Tanya Mars, lauréate du Prix du Gouverneur général en arts visuels et en arts médiatiques en 2008. Cette publication de Fado est la deuxième de leur série Canadian Performance Art Legends.

Ironic to Iconic: The Performance Works of Tanya Mars est un regard exhaustif sur la pratique de Tanya Mars de 1970 à aujourd’hui. Cette publication comporte une vaste documentation photographique, ainsi qu’un DVD documentant son travail in-situ, Tyranny of Bliss (2004).

Paul Couillard, le précédent directeur de Fado et l’éditeur de l’ouvrage, résume ainsi l’importance du travail de l’artiste : "Tanya Mars ne nous pas seulement donné des images marquantes comme la Reine Elizabeth I soufflant du feu ou Alice au pays des merveilles maniant un godemiché; son travail prouve aussi que le féminisme est devenu suffisamment adulte pour inclure l’humour dans l’arsenal de ses armes. Mars s’est acharnée à nous montrer que la meilleure façon d’égorger est d’utiliser le comique comme un poignard, en créant une série d’irrésistibles”tableaux tridimensionnels” qui ont fait d’elle l’une des artistes canadiennes de la performance les plus reconnues.

Notes biographiques sur l’artiste
Tanya Mars est une artiste féministe de la performance et de la vidéo qui est active sur la scène artistique au Canada depuis 1973. Elle a été membre fondateur et présidente de La Centrale (Gallery Powerhouse) à Montréal, la première galerie d’art pour les femmes au Canada; éditeur de Parallelogramme magazine pendant 13 ans, elle a collaboré à ANNPAC (the Association of National Non-Profit Artist-run Centres) pendant 15 ans. L’accumulation d’images féministes spectaculaires et satiriques est généralement considéré comme le trait le plus caractéristique du travail de Mars. Elle a réalisé des performances à travers tout le Canada, à Valparaiso (Chili), à Helsinki et en Suède. En 2004, elle a créé et exécuté Tyranny of Bliss, une performance d’une durée de 7 heures incluant plus de 30 performeurs qui ont représenté 14 tableaux à l’intérieur et dans les environs de Queens Park, à Toronto. Elle est co-éditeur, avec Johanna Householder, de Caught in the act: an anthology of performance art by Canadian women (2004) publié par YYZ Books. Elle est également membre de 7a*11d Collective qui produit un festival bi-annuel d’art performatif à Toronto. Elle fait partie du corps enseignant à the University of Toronto à Scarborough où elle enseigne actuellement l’art de la performance et la video. Mars a été nommé Artiste de l’année (2004) par Untitled Arts Awards à Toronto et en 2008 elle a reçu le Prix du Gouverneur Général pour les Arts visuels et médiatiques. À l’automne 2008, Mars sera l’artiste international du Conseil du Canada en résidence à Paris.

Notes biographiques sur l’éditeur
Paul Couillard est actif comme artiste et comme commissaire depuis 1985. Il a réalisé plus de 100 performances à titre individuel et en collaboration dans une bonne douzaine de pays. Il a été le commissaire d’art de la performance pour Fado depuis sa fondation en 1993 jusqu’en 2007 et il est aussi le co-commissaire fondateur de 7a*11d International Festival of Performance Art. Il enseigne actuellemnt à McMaster University et il a été l’éditeur de La Dragu : the Living Art of Margaret Dragu.(Fado, 2002)

Ironic to Iconic: The Performance Works of Tanya Mars
2008, livre de poche 286 pp.(comprend une section couleur 32-pp et index)
DVD insert: Documentation du Tyranny of Bliss project par Mars, 2004
Prix de détail: $32.95

Edité par Paul Couillard
Articles: Paul Couillard, Tagny Duff, Jennifer Fisher, Randy Gledhill, Nelson Henricks, Will Kwan, Paul Ledoux, Joanna Nash, Jennifer Oille, John Oughton & Pam Patterson, Andrew James Paterson, Kim Sawchuk, Dot Tuer
Conception de la publication: Sameer Farooq, NEWINK Auteur de DVD: Berenicci Hershorn