From February 14 2020 to March 20 2020

It's worth repeating (so I did)

Tara Lynn MacDougall

Opening: Friday, February 14th, from 6 to 8 pm

It’s worth repeating (so I did) is a collection of disparate works that consider how power and voice intersect with gender and class. The work challenges notions of authority through a process of textual rewriting and repositioning. It combines feminist strategies of appropriation, quotation, humour, and privileging the personal with aesthetic conventions associated with conceptual art and readymades.

Trends in art are flagged through tongue in cheek observations poking fun at their ubiquity. Forms of status and hierarchy are called into question through allusion to art world tropes and canonical figures. Authoritative declarations made by prominent male artists are turned into statements of self doubt, idiosyncratic wonderings and critical social commentary as a way to deconstruct the myth and media of artistic genius. A sound installation contrasts the prioritization of text in the visual works with a dematerialized and reverberant occupation of female-identified voice(s). The overall plurality and deliberate subversion of precise claims of status are meant to compose an affective, dialogical atmosphere.

With this work, I undertake a critical evaluation of art world structures as a way to reconcile my personal experiences as a working class woman within institutions like the academy and the gallery. My approach prioritizes attributing value and meaning to things -- be they stories, people, or formal qualities of an artwork -- that are otherwise disregarded or neglected. The work here is firmly feminist and politically engaged with both the aesthetics and media defining dominant systems of knowledge and social order.

Tara Lynn MacDougall is an interdisciplinary artist based in Montreal. She received a BFA from NSCAD University in 2007 and an MFA from the University of Lethbridge in 2018. She has presented work in exhibitions throughout Canada and the United States, including the recent Still Unpacking These Thoughts at the Siskind Gallery at Fanshawe College, and Impossible Expectations at Hamilton Artist’s Inc. Her practice combines video, audio, sculpture, printmaking, performance, and painting. Her interest lies in a critical and humourous re-evaluation of the art historical canon, and reconsideration of distinctions between standard labour and artistic production.

Du 14 février 2020 au 20 mars 2020

It's worth repeating (so I did)

Tara Lynn MacDougall

It’s worth repeating (so I did) est une collection hétéroclite de travaux qui réfléchissent sur comment le pouvoir et la voix croisent les notions de genre et de classe sociale. Cet ensemble défie le concept d’autorité à travers un processus de réécriture et repositionnement textuels. Il combine des stratégies féministes d’appropriation, de citation et d’humour, en privilégiant le personnel avec les conventions esthétiques associées à l’art conceptuel et aux ready-mades.

Les tendances en art se font remarquer par des observations espiègles se moquant de leur ubiquité. Les formes de statut et de hiérarchie sont remises en question par l’allusion aux tropes du monde artistique et des figures canoniques. Les déclarations dogmatiques faites par des hommes artistes éminents sont transformées en énoncés déchirés de doute, questionnements idiosyncratiques et commentaires critiques, afin de déconstruire le mythe du génie artistique et les médias auxquels il a recours. Une installation sonore met en contraste la priorisation du texte dans les travaux visuels avec la place dématérialisée et réfléchissante qu’occupe les voix identifiées comme féminines. La pluralité et la subversion délibérée des revendications de statut composent une atmosphère affective et dialogique.

À travers cette pièce, j’entreprends une évaluation critique des structures du monde de l’art afin de réconcilier mon vécu en tant que femme de la classe ouvrière œuvrant à travers les institutions académiques et artistiques. Mon approche cherche à affecter de la valeur et de la signification aux choses, qu’elles soient des histoires, des personnes, ou les qualités d’une œuvre, qui autrement auraient été ignorées ou négligées. L’œuvre présentée est résolument féministe et politiquement engagée envers les normes esthétiques et les médias définissant les systèmes dominants du savoir et de l’ordre social.

Tara Lynn MacDougall est une artiste interdisciplinaire basée à Montréal. Elle a obtenu un BFA de l’université NSCAD en 2007 et un MFA de l’université Lethbridge en 2018. Elle a présenté ses travaux à travers le Canada et les États-Unis, notamment les expositions récentes Still Unpacking These Thoughts à la galerie Siskind au collège Fanshawe, et Impossible Expectations à Hamilton Artist’s Inc. Sa pratique combine la vidéo, l’audio, la sculpture, l’imprimerie, la performance et la peinture. Elle s’intéresse à la réévaluation critique et humoristique du canon de l’art historique, et la reconsidération des distinctions entre la main d’œuvre et la production artistique.