From July 08 2021 to July 15 2021

La Centrale Toolbox (Boîte à outils)

Exhibition of the communication committee

Window exhibition from July 8 to July 15, 2021

Presentation of the window exhibition on July 8 from 4 to 6 pm in front of La Centrale*.

For the past few years, La Centrale has been doing organizational work to develop policies and resources with the goal of making La Centrale a safer and more inclusive community space. While these documents exist and some must be signed to be a member of La Centrale, access to them is not always apparent. La Centrale's communication committee has therefore taken up the mantle of improving the distribution of these documents. Organized as a working group, the members of the communication committee worked both collectively and in small groups, online and in person, pooling their reflections on the practices and issues of equity and their diverse and rich skills in illustration, graphic design, and silk-screening to realize this project.

The committee thus proposes printed, illustrated versions of La Centrale’s anti-harassment policy and basis of unity. Out of these collaborative sessions, the committee also developed a code of conduct for anyone engaging with the artist-run centre, presented in the form of a poster that will be displayed at all times at La Centrale. To complete this set of documents, the committee has also worked on an inclusive glossary, a constantly evolving list that will be visible on our website and in a video version during the exhibition. All of these documents make up the La Centrale Toolbox (Boîte à outils) exhibition presented in the window of La Centrale.

All documents are available for free here : https://www.lacentrale.org/en/equity/la-centrale-toolbox-boite-a-outils/

Members of La Centrale are invited to purchase a physical copy of the toolbox (by donation) until they are out of stock. Anyone who wishes to be part of this collaborative, feminist community, can become a member of La Centrale by following this link: https://www.lacentrale.org/en/devenir-membre/

Members of the communication committee:

  • Cristel Silva

  • Hongyu Chen

  • Karina Arbelaez

  • Camille Martin

  • Audrey Robillard

Please note that the exhibition takes place in the window of La Centrale, it is visible at all times at 4296 Saint Laurent Boulevard. The gallery space is not open to the public during the showcase.

*Mask is mandatory, no food or beverages will be available.

Du 08 juillet 2021 au 15 juillet 2021

La Centrale Toolbox (Boîte à outils)

Exposition du comité communication

Exposition de vitrine du 8 juillet au 15 juillet 2021

Présentation de l’exposition de vitrine le 8 juillet de 16h à 18h devant La Centrale*

Depuis ces dernières années, La Centrale fait un travail organisationnel pour mettre au point des politiques et ressources ayant pour but de faire de La Centrale un lieu plus sûr et inclusif. Si ces documents existent et certains doivent être signés pour faire partie de la communauté de La Centrale, leur accès n’est pas toujours facile. Le comité communication de La Centrale s’est emparé ainsi de la question de la forme et de la diffusion de ces documents. Organisés comme un groupe de travail, les membres du comité de communication ont travaillé parfois tous ensemble et parfois en petit groupe, en ligne et parfois en personne, mettant en commun leurs réflexions sur les pratiques et enjeux d’équité et leurs compétences diverses et riches en illustration, design graphique et sérigraphie pour réaliser ce projet.

Le comité propose ainsi une version imprimée et illustrée de la politique anti-harcèlement et de la base d’unité. Au cours de ces sessions de collaboration, le comité a également élaboré un code de conduite à l'intention de toute personne impliquée à La Centrale, présenté sous forme de poster qui sera affiché en tout temps à La Centrale. Pour compléter cet ensemble de documents, le comité a aussi travaillé sur un glossaire inclusif, une liste en mutation constante qui sera visible sur notre site internet et dans une version vidéo lors de l’exposition. Ce sont donc tous ces documents qui composent l’exposition La Centrale Toolbox (Boîte à outils) présentée dans la vitrine de La Centrale.

Tous les documents sont disponibles gratuitement ici : https://www.lacentrale.org/equite/la-centrale-toolbox-boite-a-outils/

Les membres de La Centrale sont invité.e.s à se procurer leur “toolbox” sur contribution volontaire jusqu'à épuisement du stock. Toute personne qui souhaite faire partie de cette communauté collaborative et féministe peut devenir membre de La Centrale en suivant ce lien : https://www.lacentrale.org/devenir-membre/

Membres du comité communication :

  • Cristel Silva

  • Hongyu Chen

  • Karina Arbelaez

  • Camille Martin

  • Audrey Robillard

Veuillez noter que l’exposition se déroule dans la vitrine de La Centrale, elle est visible en tout temps au 4296 Boulevard Saint Laurent. L'espace de la galerie n'est pas ouvert au public pendant les expositions en vitrine.

*Port du masque obligatoire, aucune boisson ou nourriture ne sera disponible.