From June 01 2021 to June 25 2021

Au Jardin d’Éden, Ruth Belinga

International performance residency

VISIT THE ONLINE EXHIBITION

La Centrale galerie Powerhouse is proud to present Au Jardin d'Éden by artist Ruth Belinga in partnership with the International Centre for African Cultural Heritage (CIPCA) located in Yaoundé, Cameroon. Au Jardin d'Éden is a performance residency taking place both in the CIPCA gallery and online. The project will unfold in three phases: a creation residency and exhibition in the CIPCA gallery and an online exhibition produced by La Centrale. Adapted within the context of the pandemic, this project intends to create a bridge between the artistic communities of Yaoundé and of Quebec.

From June 1 to 19, CIPCA’s gallery will host the artist Ruth Belinga for a creation residency in collaboration with Fabiola Ecot Ayissi, curator and director of CIPCA. From June 19 to 25, Ruth Belinga will present the results of her residency in the form of an exhibition at CIPCA and a performance presented during the exhibition’s opening on June 19. The final phase of the project will be presented on June 25, when Au Jardin d'Éden will open as an online exhibition. The online exhibition will invite the public to follow the different stages of the project's realization, to discover the artist's creative process and to see the final performance.

The performance Au Jardin d'Eden, explores the forest and the woman, victims of our violence, and seeks to resist the demise of these spaces / "sacred" bodies. Belinga’s performance questions the place of the body and the beliefs of the other in the face of the deforestation systematically practiced by contemporary societies in the midst of full urbanization. It establishes a parallel between rape by deforestation, the beliefs of peoples for whom the forest (tree) is a significant spiritual symbol, and the non-respect for the intimacy of the human being whose forest spaces are often transformed into products of exploitation. The exploration of the female body, which is a constant in Ruth Belinga’s work, brings us back to ancient Greek mythology where women/nymphs represent the goddesses of the forest, unfortunately devastated by the action of man.

The work Au Jardin d’Eden, aims then to put the man in front of his own conscience, by showing the cruelty of his acts towards nature and by extension, of his fellow, the woman.


Ruth Belinga
Involved in Cameroonian artistic life since the beginning, Ruth Belinga conducts research on the history of pictorial art in Cameroon. Holder of a Ph. D. in art history, she also teaches art history at the Institute of Fine Arts in Foumban (University of Dschang) while also being curator. She has published a number of articles in national and international peer review journals and magazines. Painter, video artist and performer, she has participated in several exhibitions in Cameroon, Algeria, Mali, France, Brazil, the Netherlands and the Republic of Congo (Congo-Brazzaville), Senegal and Canada.

Fabiola Ecot Ayissi
Founding member of the International Centre for African Cultural Heritage (CIPCA), a community art centre located in Yaoundé since 2015. Director of CIPCA and curator, Fabiola Ecot Ayissi is interested in the dynamics of artistic creation existing in Central Africa since independence (1960s). Specifically, her work focuses on Equatorial Guinea and Cameroon, with artists such as Leandro Mbomio, Gaspar Gomán, Joseph-Francis Sumegne, Dieudonné Fokou, Ruth Afane Belinga, and Salifou Lindou. Through her curatorial practice, she works towards a contemporary approach to ancient African art, otherwise called "tribal" art.

CIPCA
CIPCA (International Centre for African Cultural Heritage) is a Cameroonian association based in the country’s capital, Yaoundé. CIPCA has operated as a community arts space from its current physical location since 2018. The Centre brings together cultural actors, researchers, creators, and those interested in preserving Africa’s heritage (visual arts and oral culture). The initiative was born from the desire to contribute to and revitalize, through artistic activities, the approach towards cultural heritage in Africa, whether tangible or intangible (sonic heritage), and to share this ambition with the largest number of people. CIPCA supports contemporary creation and proposes a reflection on ancient and contemporary art, archives and the promotion of local languages. The Centre welcomes the public and professionals to its space, including an art gallery and a library (books and digital archives). It also welcomes artists in residence. For more information: http://www.cipcalab.org/

Photo credit : Ruth Belinga, My name is, 2018. Photo : Kamissa Ma Koïta

Du 01 juin 2021 au 25 juin 2021

Résidence de performance internationale : Ruth Belinga

La Centrale galerie Powerhouse est fière de présenter le projet Au Jardin d’Éden de l’artiste Ruth Belinga en partenariat avec le Centre International pour le Patrimoine Culturel et Artistique (CIPCA) localisé dans la ville de Yaoundé au Cameroun. Au Jardin d’Éden est un projet de résidence de performance prenant place à la fois dans la galerie du CIPCA et en ligne. Ce projet se déploiera en trois phases, à savoir : la résidence de création et l’exposition dans la galerie du CIPCA puis l’exposition numérique produite par La Centrale. Ce projet a été adapté dans le contexte de la pandémie avec l'intention de créer un pont entre la communauté artistique de Yaoundé et celle du Québec.

Du 1er au 19 juin, le CIPCA accueillera dans son espace galerie l’artiste Ruth Belinga pour une résidence de création en collaboration avec Fabiola Ecot Ayissi, commissaire et directrice du CIPCA. Du 19 au 25 juin, l’artiste présentera le résultat de ses recherches de résidence sous la forme d’une exposition au CIPCA et d’une performance présentée le 19 juin lors du vernissage. Finalement, à partir du 25 juin, le projet Au Jardin d’Éden sera présenté sous forme d’une exposition numérique dans laquelle le public sera invité à suivre les différentes étapes de la réalisation du projet, à découvrir le processus de création de l’artiste et à voir la performance finale.

La performance Au Jardin d’Éden, explore la forêt et la femme, victimes de nos violences, et tient à repousser la fin définitive de ces espaces/corps « sacrés », elle interroge ainsi la place du corps et des croyances de l’autre face à la déforestation pratiquée systématiquement par les sociétés contemporaines en pleine urbanisation. Elle établit un parallèle entre le viol, par la déforestation, des croyances des peuples pour qui la forêt (arbre) est un symbole spirituel significatif fort et le non-respect de l’intimité de l’être humain dont les espaces forestiers sont souvent transformés en produit d’exploitation. L’exploration du corps féminin qui est d’ailleurs une constance dans l’œuvre de Ruth Belinga nous ramène à la mythologie grecque antique où des femmes/nymphes, représentent des déesses de la forêt, malheureusement dévastée par l’action de l’homme.

L’œuvre Au Jardin d’Éden, vise alors à mettre l’Homme face à sa propre conscience, en montrant la cruauté de ses actes vis-à-vis de la nature et par extension, de son semblable, la femme.


Ruth Belinga
Investie depuis ses débuts dans la vie artistique camerounaise, Ruth Belinga effectue des recherches sur l'histoire de l’art pictural au Cameroun. Titulaire d’un doctorat (Ph. D.) en histoire de l'art, elle enseigne également l'histoire de l'art à l'Institut des Beaux-Arts de Foumban (Université de Dschang) tout en étant également commissaire d’exposition. Elle a publié de nombreux articles dans des revues et journaux nationaux et internationaux.
Artiste peintre, vidéaste et performeuse, elle a participé à plusieurs expositions au Cameroun, en Algérie, au Mali, en France, au Brésil, aux Pays-Bas et en République du Congo (Congo-Brazzaville), au Sénégal et au Canada.

Fabiola Ecot Ayissi
Membre fondatrice en 2015 du Centre International pour le Patrimoine Culturel et Artistique (CIPCA), centre d’art associatif situé à Yaoundé. Directrice du CIPCA et commissaire d’exposition, Fabiola Ecot Ayissi s’intéresse à la dynamique de création artistique à l’œuvre en Afrique centrale depuis les indépendances (années 60), plus particulièrement en Guinée équatoriale et au Cameroun, chez des plasticiens comme Leandro Mbomio, Gaspar Gomán, Joseph-Francis Sumegne, Dieudonné Fokou, Ruth Afane Belinga ou Salifou Lindou. Dans sa pratique commissariale, elle travaille également à une approche contemporaine de l’art africain ancien dit « tribal ».

CIPCA
Le CIPCA (Centre International pour le Patrimoine Culturel et Artistique) est une association de droit camerounais basée à Yaoundé, capitale du Cameroun. Le CIPCA s’est constitué en Centre d’art associatif « physique » depuis 2018. Il réunit des acteurs culturels, des chercheurs, des créateurs, et des personnes intéressées par la préservation patrimoniale en Afrique (arts plastiques et culture orale). L’initiative est née du désir de contribuer à dynamiser, à travers des activités artistiques, l’approche sur le patrimoine culturel en Afrique, qu’il soit matériel ou immatériel (patrimoine sonore) et de partager avec le plus grand nombre cette ambition. Le CIPCA soutient la création contemporaine et propose une réflexion autour de l’art ancien et actuel, des archives et de la promotion des langues locales. Le Centre accueille le public et les professionnels dans un espace comprenant notamment une galerie d’art, un espace de documentation (livres et archives numériques). Il accueille également les artistes en résidence de création. Pour plus d’informations : http://www.cipcalab.org/

Crédit photo : Ruth Belinga, My name is, 2018. Photo : Kamissa Ma Koïta