From September 18 2004 to September 18 2004

LANCEMENT LES CENTRELLES

Book Launch Saturday, September 18, 5pm

les centrelles commemorates two years at La Centrale. Its goal is not so much to document the year’s events at the gallery, but to make visible that which often goes unnoticed when a show is up, framed by white walls: the energy generated by the women involved- the women otherwise known as the “centrelles”.

Whether in the form of—
a staged self-questioning in an ideal world,; a powerhouse of dreams; a commentary on the challenges of navigating through utopia without cynicism; a pragmatic viewpoint of events that frames members’ concrete needs; an inventory of what La Centrale stands for; a contact with the founding mothers and reflections on how La Centrale has morphed from its activist roots; a poem, some photographs; testimonies of involvement with the centre from different generations; assessments on the gallery’s reputation; reflections on the woman artist tag and the weight of feminist history—

les centrelles confronts the duality between the centre’s projection to the outside as an established “institution” and the realities of “collective” activity within. It acknowledges La Centrale’s unique paerticipation in the shaping of artist-run culture.

Texts and artist projects by:

Catherine Bodmer
Gail Bourgeois
Karilee Fuglem
Sheela Gowda
Kate Gray
Madelon Hooykaas
Glynis Humphreys
Kristina Kudryk
Victoria LeBlanc
Pushpamala N
Lou Nelson
Elsa Stansfield
Pat Walsh
Doreen Wittenbols
+ les membres de/ the members of La Centrale

LANCEMENT LES CENTRELLES

Du 18 septembre 2004 au 18 septembre 2004

LANCEMENT LES CENTRELLES

Lancement samedi 18 septembre, 17h

les centrelles commémore deux ans à La Centrale. Son objectif n’est pas tand de documenter les événements de l’année à la galerie, mais plustôt de rebdre visible ce qui, souvent, passe inaperçu lorsque l’expo est installée, encardrée pas ses mûrs blancs, soit l’energie générée pas les femmes qui s‘investissent, ces femmes aussi connues sous le nom des <centrelles>.

Qui aurait la forme—
D’une auto-interrogation mise en scène dans un monde ideal; d’une centrale de rêves; d’un commentaire sur les défis que pose la navigation sans cynisme dans l’utopie; d’un point de vue pragmatique sur les événements qui encadrent les besoins concrets des membres; d’un inventaire de ce que La Centrale représente; d’un contact avec les mères fondatrices et de réflexions sur la transformation de La Centrale depuis ses racines activistes; d’un poème; de photographies; de témoignanges d’implication au centre provenant de générations différentes; d’un sondage sur la réputation de la galerie; de réflexions sur l’étiquette de <femme artiste> et sur le poids de l’histoire féministe—

les centrelles confronte la dualité entre la projection externe du centre en tant qu’institution bien établie et les réalités de l’activité collective à l’interne. les centrelles reconnaît le caractère unique de la participation de La Centrale à la culture des centres d’artistes.

Textes et projets d’artistes par

Catherine Bodmer
Gail Bourgeois
Karilee Fuglem
Sheela Gowda
Kate Gray
Madelon Hooykaas
Glynis Humphreys
Kristina Kudryk
Victoria LeBlanc
Pushpamala N
Lou Nelson
Elsa Stansfield
Pat Walsh
Doreen Wittenbols
+ les membres de/ the members of La Centrale

LANCEMENT LES CENTRELLES