From October 01 2013 to October 06 2013

Performance

Victoria Stanton (QC)
Celeste Marie Welch (USA)
Teresa María Díaz Nerio (Rép. dom.)

Performance
October 1 to 6, 2013
At Bain St-Michel
5300 St-Dominique Street, Montreal

As part of the festival VIVA! ART ACTION

Performance
October 1 to 6, 2013
At Bain St-Michel
5300 St-Dominique Street, Montreal

Artistes :
Teresa María Díaz Nerio (Rép. dom.)
Victoria Stanton (QC)
Celeste Marie Welch (USA)


TERESA MARÍA DÍAZ NERIO (Dom. Rep.)
We regretfully announce that Teresa María Díaz Nerio will not be coming to VIVA! to perform, as the artist was denied the necessary visa for her temporary stay in Canada. We deplore her absence and will provide her with space for a presentation via Skype during the conference Feminist Issues Through Performance, where she will have the opportunity to introduce her practice and interact with the other invited speakers. VIVA! believes in the free circulation of international artists and hopes to not have to manage the detention of invited artist at the border in the future.

Teresa María Díaz Nerio is a Dominican visual and performance artist and researcher living between Amsterdam and Dominican Republic. She graduated as a Bachelor in Fine Arts from the Gerrit Rietveld Academie (2007) and received her Master in Fine Arts from the Dutch Art Institute (2009). She does research which is often focused on subjects informed by the history of colonial and neocolonial invasions in the Global South, challenging the hegemonic Eurocentric and US centric notions of who is who and what is what.

The performance “Hommage à Sara Bartman” (2007) elucidates the life, death and afterlife of a South African Khoisan woman. Sara Bartman was exhibited in England and Paris at the beginning of the 19th century as part of a popular entertainment industry of freak shows, menageries, theatres and pleasure gardens. Biologists were fascinated by Khoisan women’s genitalia, “tablier” or elongated labia, which accompany the large buttocks or steatopygia. This was indeed one of the reasons why Sara Bartman was kept as an object at the Musée de l’Homme in Paris under the iconic name “Hottentot Venus.” Her skeleton, brain and genitalia were exposed with a cast of her body until the 1970’s, when feminists’ protests against her display succeeded. In 1995, Nelson Mandela requested the repatriation of her remains, which only found peace in 2003.

Website : teresadiaznerio.wordpress.com

VICTORIA STANTON (QC)
Thursday, October 3rd
Evening Progamming

Title one (offsite piece):
Sharpshooter (top five hits: lesson #1)

Title two (in the bain saint michel)
Sharpshooter (top five hits: lesson #2)

Victoria Stanton (Montreal, Canada) is an interdisciplinary artist working with live action, human interaction, video, film, photo, drawing, and writing. While the outward results of her practice may manifest in a multiplicity of forms, performance is the unifying central focus and invariable core of her research. Stanton’s time-based work includes performance for stage, performance for the camera, actions in public spaces and one-on-one encounters in intimate contexts. Whether participatory, durational, task-based or audio-visual, her work is an investigation into the ability (and the desire) to hold a space, to appropriate and disrupt the quotidian, to create spontaneous intimacy, to tread vulnerability.

Stanton has presented her work in Canada, the U.S., Europe, the U.K., Australia, Japan and Mexico. Her creative and critical writings have been published in Canadian and American anthologies and art/literary/lifestyle magazines. Her first book “Impure, Reinventing the Word - an examination of the practice of spoken word” was published by conundrum press in October 2001 (co-authored with Vincent Tinguely). Stanton is currently working on her second book, this time with the TouVA collective (comprised of Anne Bérubé, Sylvie Tourangeau and Stanton), a critical work developing salient notions on how performance is practiced and on the question of ‘the performative.’

Website : www.bankofvictoria.com


CELESTE MARIE WELCH (USA)
Saturday, October 5th
Evening Progamming


Interdisciplinary artist Celeste Marie Welch works in sculpture, photography, installation, video, sound and performance. Using different forms of craft such as crotchet, knitting and restoration of objects, her sculptures function as props in pre-choreographed performances that are often accompanied by a video projection. Her time-based surrealist works address multiple queer personas that construct narratives through dream imagery and dialogue. Her work remixes the accoutrements of gender oppression and returns them as tools for play when performing the body.

Presented at VIVA!, “Fotos y Recuerdos” will be derived from her research about Tejano culture and her relationship to Mexican American culture as a Mexican American Queer. The performance purposely shares its title with a song by Selena Quintanilla-Pérez, the character inspiration for this performance.

Website : celestemariewelch.weebly.com

Du 01 octobre 2013 au 06 octobre 2013

Performance

Victoria Stanton (QC)
Celeste Marie Welch (USA)
Teresa María Díaz Nerio (Rép. dom.)

Performance
1 au 6 octobre 2013
Au Bain St-Michel
5300 rue St-Dominique, Montréal

Dans le cadre du festival VIVA! ART ACTION

Performance
1 au 6 octobre 2013
Au Bain St-Michel
5300 rue St-Dominique, Montréal

Artistes :
Teresa María Díaz Nerio (Rép. dom.)
Victoria Stanton (QC)
Celeste Marie Welch (USA)


Teresa Maria Diaz Nerio (Rép. dom.)
Nous avons le regret de ne pas pouvoir accueillir Teresa María Díaz Nerio pour sa performance. L’artiste n’ayant pas reçu de réponse favorable à sa demande de Visa. Nous déplorons son absence et nous laisserons à l’artiste un espace de présentation via Skype lors du colloque sur les enjeux féministes en performance. Elle pourra nous présenter sa pratique et interagir avec les conférencières. L’équipe de Viva! défend la libre circulation des artistes internationaux et nous espérons ne plus avoir a déplorer l’arrêt aux frontières d’artistes dans le futur.

Teresa María Díaz Nerio, d'origine dominicaine, est une artiste visuelle et de performance ainsi qu'une chercheuse. Elle vit actuellement entre Amsterdam et la République dominicaine. Elle a obtenu un baccalauréat en arts visuels à la Gerrit Rietveld Academie (2007) et a reçu sa maîtrise en beaux-arts du Dutch Art Institute (2009). Son sujet de recherche porte sur l'histoire des invasions coloniales et néocoloniales dans l'hémisphère sud, contestant les notions hégémoniques eurocentriques sur le “qui est qui” et “quoi est quoi”.

La performance « Hommage à Sara Bartman » (2007) éclaire la vie, la mort et l’après-vie d'une femme khoisan d’Afrique du Sud. Au début du XIXe siècle, Sara Bartman fut montrée en Angleterre et à Paris, comme un “monstre de foire” par l’industrie du divertissement populaire, par les ménageries, par les théâtres et par les parcs d’attractions. Les biologistes ont été fascinés par les organes génitaux de la femme khoisan, surtout par ses lèvres « tablier » ou allongées ainsi que ses larges fesses ou stéatopygie. Ce fut l'une des raisons pour laquelle Sara Bartman a été gardée comme un objet au Musée de l'homme à Paris sous le nom emblématique de « Vénus hottentote ». Jusque dans les années '70, un moulage de son squelette, de son cerveau et de ses organes génitaux y furent exposés. Les manifestations féministes contre son exposition ont réussi à mettre fin à cette abomination. En 1995, Nelson Mandela a demandé le rapatriement de sa dépouille et enfin elle a trouvé la paix en 2003.

Site web : teresadiaznerio.wordpress.com

Victoria Stanton (QC)
Programmation du jeudi soir 3 octobre


Title one (offsite piece):
Sharpshooter (top five hits: lesson #1)

Title two (in the bain saint michel)
Sharpshooter (top five hits: lesson #2)

Victoria Stanton (Montréal, Canada) est une artiste interdisciplinaire travaillant avec l’art action, l'interaction humaine, la vidéo, le film, la photo, le dessin et l'écriture. Alors que les résultats extérieurs de sa pratique peuvent se manifester dans une multiplicité de formes, la performance est le thème central unificateur et la base invariable de sa recherche. Le travail de Stanton qui a comme prémisse le temps comprend performance pour la scène, performance filmée, actions dans des espaces publics et rencontres individuelles dans des contextes intimes. Participative, durative, basée sur les tâches ou l’audio-visuel, son travail est une enquête sur la capacité (et la volonté) d'organiser un espace, pour s'approprier et perturber le quotidien, pour créer l'intimité spontanée et fouler la vulnérabilité.

Stanton a présenté son travail au Canada, aux États-Unis, en Europe, au Royaume-Uni, en Australie, au Japon et au Mexique. Ses écrits créatifs et ses critiques ont été publiés dans des anthologies canadiennes et américaines et des magazines art/littérature/lifestyle. Son premier livre « Impurs, réinventer le mot - un examen de la pratique de la langue parlée » a été publié par Conundrum press en octobre 2001 (co-écrit avec Vincent Tinguely). Stanton travaille actuellement sur son deuxième livre, cette fois avec le collectif TouVA (avec Anne Bérubé, Sylvie Tourangeau), un travail critique développant des notions saillantes sur comment se pratique la performance et sur la question du « performatif ».

Site web : www.bankofvictoria.com


Celeste Marie Welch (USA)
Programmation du samedi soir 5 octobre

Artiste interdisciplinaire, Celeste Marie Welch travaille en sculpture, photographie, installation, vidéo, son et performance. En utilisant différentes formes soit le crochet, le tricot et la restauration d'objets, ses sculptures fonctionnent comme des accessoires en performances pré-chorégraphiées qui s'accompagnent souvent d'une projection vidéo. Ses œuvres surréalistes temporisées abordent plusieurs personas queer qui construisent des récits à travers des images oniriques et narratives. Son travail reformule les accoutrements de l'oppression de genre et les retourne comme outils de jeu en activant le corps.

Présenté à VIVA!, « Fotos y Recuerdos » sera dérivé de ses recherches sur la culture Tejano et de sa relation à la culture américaine-mexicaine qui deviendra mexicaine-américaine et queer. La performance a délibérément partagé son titre avec une chanson de Selena Quintanilla-Perez, source d'inspiration pour cette performance.

Site web : celestemariewelch.weebly.com