The March 06 2015

SUPERHEART

Nancy Tobin (Montréal)

Performance Friday March 6, 7pm/8pm/9pm/10pm
In collaboration with MARTIN TÉTREAULT

SUPERHEART is a conceptual music project about an absurd esoteric super heroine. Through SUPERHEART, mixing vintage and contemporary technologies, sound artists Nancy Tobin and Martin Tétreault investigate the pop song genre. They appropriate it. They tear it open and stretch it. The outcome is a 39-minute recording of an ambient, minimalist, repetitive song. The live performance of SUPERHEART will investigate ways to revisit our experience of the in-gallery audio presentation attempting to break with usual expectations.

Nancy Tobin is a sound artist and designer for theatre productions. In 2004, she was nominated for the Masque de la conception sonore (sound design prize) by the Académie québécoise du théâtre for her work in the production of Le Procès directed by François Girard. Her composition and design for the piece Concerto grosso pour corps et instruments choreographed by Danièle Desnoyers was presented at the MBZ 2003 (Music Biennale Zagreb).

Over the past twenty years, Nancy Tobin has developed an approach using unusual audio speakers to transform the sound qualities of her creations. As a solo audio artist she has performed at several international festivals and sound events: MUTEK (Montreal), immerson (Montreal), NAISA (Toronto), Tone Deaf (Kingston), B-312 Art Gallery (Montreal), DHC/ART Foundation (Montreal), Avatar (Québec) and, La Centrale Galerie Powerhouse (Montreal), among others.

www.mmebutterfly.com

Martin Tétreault is an internationally-renowned sound artist based in Montreal. He is a leading figure in improvisation using turntables, unusual vinyl surfaces and objects. Tétreault is a turntablist, improvisor, sound artist and visual artist. He is recognized locally and abroad for his research and improvisation with, and fabrication of, turntables of every sort. He has created sound performances, solo or in collaboration with other artists in music, dance, poetry and installation.

Tétreault’s trajectory includes various productions on compact disc and live performances with a range of collaborators, including the duo Této with Nancy Tobin and the trio Xyz with Pierre-Yves Martel and Philippe Lauzier. Martin Tétreault is also composer and director of the turntable quartet Quatuor de tourne-disques with Nancy Tobin, Alexander MacSween, David Lafrance et Magali Babin, founded in 2006. They released the disc Points, lignes avec haut-parleurs with Oral in 2011.

www.actuellecd.com

Du 06 mars 2015 au 06 mars 2015

SUPERHEART

Nancy Tobin (Montréal)

Performance Vendredi 6 mars, 19h/20h/21h/22h
En collaboration avec MARTIN TÉTREAULT

SUPERHEART est un projet performatif de musique conceptuelle s'articulant autour d’une super héroïne, absurde et ésotérique. Les artistes sonores Nancy Tobin et Martin Tétreault explorent à travers ce projet la chanson de type « pop ». Le genre est secoué, renversé, saccagé, perturbé, étiré. Il en résulte une chanson atmosphérique, lente, minimaliste et répétitive, enregistrée sur 39 minutes. La performance « live » de SUPERHEART se veut elle aussi défonceuse du « pré formaté ». Le contexte de La Centrale sera l'occasion pour les artistes de revisiter le mode de présentation de performance sonore en galerie.

Nancy Tobin est une artiste sonore et conceptrice pour les arts de la scène. En 2004, elle est mise en nomination pour le Masque de la conception sonore par l'Académie québécoise du théâtre pour son travail dans la production Le Procès, mise en scène par François Girard. Sa conception pour la pièce Concerto grosso pour corps et instruments chorégraphie par Danièle Desnoyers a été présentée au MBZ 2003 (Music Biennale Zagreb).

Au cours des vingt dernières années, Nancy Tobin a développé une approche marquée par l’utilisation de haut-parleurs inhabituels visant à transformer les qualités sonores de ses créations. En tant qu'artiste sonore solo, elle a performé à l'occasion de plusieurs festivals et événements en art sonore tels que: MUTEK (Montréal), immerson (Montréal), NAISA (Toronto), Tone Deaf (Kingston), à la Galerie B-312 (Montréal), à la Fondation DHC/ART (Montreal), au centre Avatar (Québec) ainsi qu'à La Centrale (Montréal).

www.mmebutterfly.com

Martin Tétreault est platiniste, improvisateur, concepteur sonore et artiste visuel. Il est reconnu ici et à l’étranger pour son travail de recherche et d’improvisation avec des tourne-disques de tout genre ou de sa fabrication. Il réalise avec cet attirail hétéroclite des performances sonores, seul ou en collaboration avec d’autres artistes de la musique, la danse, la poésie ou l’installation.

Il a publié de nombreux disques avec de nombreux artistes du Québec et de l’extérieur. Il est, avec Nancy Tobin, membre du duo de diffusion bipolaire Této et du trio Xyz au côté de Pierre-Yves Martel et Philippe Lauzier. Depuis 2006 il compose et dirige le Quatuor de tourne-disques composé de Nancy Tobin, Alexander MacSween, David Lafrance et Magali Babin. De ce quatuor, le disque Points, lignes avec haut-parleurs a été publié chez Oral en 2011.

www.actuellecd.com