The November 06 2020

Turning Points

Roundtable discussion facilitated by Anne-Marie Trépanier + Hannah Azar Strauss

Presented as part of the HTMlles Festival
With Natacha Clitandre, Lucas LaRochelle, Alex Megelas, Sepideh Shahamati, Amanda Gutierrez, Florencia Sosa Rey, Joanna Guillaume, Veronica Mockler, Tamara Vukov and Shane Watt
Friday, November 6, 5 – 7 pm
Online via Facebook

How is mapping a ground for imagining the future? The phrase “turning point” calls to mind a body in motion as well as a fixed location; it refers to a moment of crisis in order to shift away from it. Facilitated by Anne-Marie Trépanier and Hannah Azar Strauss, the roundtable will explore themes of futurity and solidarity, bringing together artists and researchers involved in community mapping projects including Queering The Map, the Parc-Ex Anti-Eviction Mapping Project, Womxn Walk the Walk, Spectographies, Geomedia Lab, and Paper Places. How can alternative mapping practices like these reorient us spatially in more critical and generous ways? The roundtable will consider how these projects act as tools for resilient memory and self-determination in the face of political, social, and environmental crisis. Explore more at https://www.are.na/turning-points-htmlles-2020

This panel discussion will be FR-EN bilingual without translations; panelists will speak in their preferred language, and facilitation will be in both languages.

A mapping workshop will be proposed prior to this roundtable discussion. More information here : https://www.lacentrale.org/en/actions-educatives/program-of-activities/turning-points-a-mapping-workshop/


About the participants:

ANNE-MARIE TRÉPANIER
Anne-Marie Trépanier is an artist, editor, and cultural worker based in Tiohtiá:ke / Mooniyang / Montreal. Her practice includes writing, experimental publishing, and new media, with a focus on the representation, translation and conversion of experience as forms of knowledge. She is currently a master’s student in Communication Studies at Concordia University.

HANNAH AZAR STRAUSS
Hannah Azar Strauss is an artist and educator based in Tiohtiá:ke / Mooniyang / Montreal. Working mainly with drawing and text, her practice is centered on conversation and the cultivation of history through language and gesture. She works at Ada X and Artenso, and serves on the board at articule.

NATACHA CLITANDRE
Natacha Clitandre is an artist whose work centres on the ubiquitous nature of technology in everyday life. As a method of investigating links between artist and viewer, Natacha uses mobile devices with video and photo capacities, along with printed media, to explore and comment on the public sphere.

LUCAS LAROCHELLE
Lucas LaRochelle is a designer and researcher whose work is concerned with queer geographies, critical internet studies, and community-based archiving. They are the founder of Queering The Map, a community generated counter-mapping project that digitally archives queer experience in relation to physical space.

ALEX MEGELAS
Alex Megelas is a Programs Coordinator for the Office of Community Engagement at Concordia University and a PhD Student at McGill University, under the supervision of Profs. Bronwen Low and Henry Mintzberg. He is an affiliate facilitator of the Centre for Community Organizations (COCo) and teaches in the School of Conflict Studies at St Paul University.

SEPIDEH SHAHAMATI
Sepideh Shahamati is a Ph.D. student at the Department of Geography, Planning, and Environment at Concordia University. Her research focuses on humanistic approaches in planning theory and practice. She is interested in people’s interaction with the built environment and the tangible and intangible dimensions of cultural heritage. In her current research, she explores ways of integrating intangible assets of cities into planning and policy-making through investigating mapping methods.

WOMXN WALK THE WALK
Womxn Walk the Walk is a collective of artists, community members and researchers who explore the intersectional experience of female identity in public space, through the acts of walking, gathering, storytelling and listening. Co-founded in the fall of 2019, the collective today consists of four core members: Amanda Gutierrez, Florencia Sosa Rey, Joanna Guillaume and Veronica Mockler.

THE PARC-EX ANTI-EVICTION MAPPING PROJECT
The Parc-Ex Anti-Eviction Mapping Project aims to raise awareness about the effects of gentrification in Parc-Extension and other neighborhoods in Montreal. They document the local histories and neighbourhood changes and use research, writing and creative practices to hold politicians, institutions and businesses like the University of Montreal and the emerging tech industries accountable for their impact on gentrification. They share a commitment to supporting the self-determination of Parc-Ex residents in their struggles for housing justice.

TAMARA VUKOV
Tamara Vukov is a researcher, writer and filmmaker active over the years in community-based organizing and media in Montréal. She is an Associate Professor in the Department of Communication at the Université de Montréal. She has been a resident of the neighbourhoods adjacent to the new Campus MIL for over 30 years, and has had direct experience with eviction-related issues.

SHANE WATT
Shane Watt is a visual artist who creates fictional cities encrypted with symbols and secrets in order to tell a story or make a statement. Each city is partially based on real places, often borrowing from existing geography. Together they fit into a larger master map of a fictional place called Loyala.

Le 06 novembre 2020

Turning Points

Table ronde animée par Anne-Marie Trépanier + Hannah Azar Strauss

Présenté dans le cadre du festival HTMlles
Avec Natacha Clitandre, Lucas LaRochelle, Alex Megelas, Sepideh Shahamati, Amanda Gutierrez, Florencia Sosa Rey, Joanna Guillaume, Veronica Mockler, Tamara Vukov et Shane Watt.

Vendredi 6 novembre, 17h – 19h
En ligne via Facebook

Comment cartographier un lieu pour imaginer l’avenir ? L’expression « turning point” (tournant) évoque un corps en mouvement aussi bien qu’un lieu fixe ; elle fait référence à un moment de crise nécessaire pour changer de cap. Animée par Anne-Marie Trépanier et Hannah Azar Strauss, la table ronde explorera les thèmes de l’avenir et de la solidarité, en réunissant des artistes et des chercheur-e-s impliqué-e-s dans des projets de cartographie communautaire, notamment Queering The Map, le projet de cartographie anti-éviction Parc-Ex, Womxn Walk the Walk, Spectographies, Geomedia Lab et Paper Places. Comment des pratiques cartographiques alternatives comme celles-ci peuvent-elles nous réorienter dans l’espace de façon critique et généreuse ? La table ronde examinera les façons dont ces projets agissent comme des outils de mémoire et d’autodétermination résilients face à la crise politique, sociale et environnementale. Pour en savoir plus, consultez le site https://www.are.na/turning-points-htmlles-2020

Cette table ronde sera bilingue FR-EN sans traduction ; les panélistes s’exprimeront dans leur langue de préférence et l’animation se fera dans les deux langues.

En amont de cette table ronde sera proposé un atelier de cartographie. Plus d'informations ici : https://www.lacentrale.org/actions-educatives/programme-des-activites/turning-points-un-atelier-de-cartographie/


À propos des participant·e·s:

ANNE-MARIE TRÉPANIER
Anne-Marie Trépanier est une artiste, éditrice et travailleuse culturelle basée à Tiohtiá:ke / Mooniyang / Montréal. Sa pratique comprend l’écriture, l’édition expérimentale et les nouveaux médias, avec un accent sur la représentation, la traduction et la conversion de l’expérience en tant que formes de connaissance. Elle est actuellement étudiante en maîtrise en études de communication à l’Université Concordia.

HANNAH AZAR STRAUSS
Hannah Azar Strauss est une artiste et une éducatrice basée à Tiohtiá:ke / Mooniyang / Montréal. Travaillant principalement avec le dessin et le texte, sa pratique est centrée sur la conversation et la culture de l’histoire à travers le langage et le geste. Elle travaille chez Ada X et Artenso, et siège au conseil d’administration d’articule.

NATACHA CLITANDRE
Natacha Clitandre est une artiste dont le travail est centré sur l’omniprésence de la technologie dans la vie quotidienne. En tant que méthode d’investigation des liens entre l’artiste et le spectateur, Natacha utilise des appareils mobiles dotés de capacités vidéo et photo, ainsi que des médias imprimés, pour explorer et commenter la sphère publique.

LUCAS LAROCHELLE
Lucas LaRochelle est un-e designer et chercheur-se dont le travail porte sur les géographies queer, les études critiques sur Internet et l’archivage communautaire. Iel est fondateur-rice de Queering The Map, un projet de contre-cartographie généré par la communauté qui archive numériquement l’expérience queer en relation avec l’espace physique.

ALEX MEGELAS
Alex Megelas est coordinateur de programmes pour le Bureau de l’engagement communautaire à l’Université Concordia et étudiant en doctorat à l’Université McGill, sous la supervision de Profs. Bronwen Low et Henry Mintzberg. Il est animateur affilié au Centre for Community Organizations (COCo) et enseigne à la School of Conflict Studies de l’université St Paul.

SEPIDEH SHAHAMATI
Sepideh Shahamati est doctorante au département de géographie, de planification et d’environnement de l’université Concordia. Ses recherches se concentrent sur les approches humanistes dans la théorie et la pratique de la planification. Elle s’intéresse à l’interaction des gens avec l’environnement bâti et aux dimensions matérielles et immatérielles du patrimoine culturel. Dans ses recherches actuelles, elle explore les moyens d’intégrer les actifs immatériels des villes dans la planification et l’élaboration des politiques en étudiant les méthodes de cartographie.

WOMXN WALK THE WALK
Womxn Walk the Walk est un collectif d’artistes, de membres de la communauté et de chercheurs qui explorent l’expérience intersectionnelle de l’identité féminine dans l’espace public, à travers les actes de marcher, de se rassembler, de raconter des histoires et d’écouter. Cofondé à l’automne 2019, le collectif se compose aujourd’hui de quatre membres principaux : Amanda Gutierrez, Florencia Sosa Rey, Joanna Guillaume et Veronica Mockler.

LE PROJET DE CARTOGRAPHIE ANTI-ÉVICTION DE PARC-EX
Le projet de cartographie anti-éviction de Parc-Ex vise à sensibiliser aux effets de l’embourgeoisement dans Parc-Extension et dans d’autres quartiers de Montréal. Iels documentent les histoires locales et les changements de quartiers et utilisent la recherche, l’écriture et les pratiques créatives pour tenir les politiciens, les institutions et les entreprises comme l’Université de Montréal et les industries technologiques émergentes responsables de leur impact sur l’embourgeoisement. Iels partagent un engagement à soutenir l’autodétermination des résident-e-s de Parc-Ex dans leurs luttes pour la justice en matière de logement.

TAMARA VUKOV
Tamara Vukov est une chercheuse, écrivaine et cinéaste active depuis des années dans le domaine de l’organisation communautaire et des médias à Montréal. Elle est professeure agrégée au département de communication de l’Université de Montréal. Elle réside dans les quartiers adjacents au nouveau Campus MIL depuis plus de 30 ans et a une expérience directe des questions liées aux expulsions.

SHANE WATT
Shane Watt est un artiste visuel qui crée des villes fictives cryptées avec des symboles et des secrets afin de raconter une histoire ou de faire une déclaration. Chaque ville est partiellement basée sur des lieux réels, souvent en empruntant à la géographie existante. Ensemble, elles s’intègrent dans une carte maîtresse plus grande d’un lieu fictif appelé Loyala.