From February 12 2021 to March 21 2021

A Thousand Cuts

B.G-Osborne

La Centrale galerie Powerhouse is proud to present the exhibition A Thousand Cuts by the artist B.G-Osborne, from February 12, 2021 to March 21, 2021. Because of the pandemic, this exhibition will be visible only from the window of La Centrale at 4296 St-Laurent Boulevard, between Marie-Anne and Rachel Streets. The video A Thousand Cuts is also visible below.

WATCH THE VIDEO

A Thousand Cuts is a three channel found-footage video installation that addresses the misrepresentation of trans people in film and television and the ongoing reality of violence that transgender/transsexual people encounter. The video is comprised of appropriated footage from 48 films, 34 television series, and one music video ranging from 1953 to 2015.
The video compilation is accompanied by a single-channel scrolling text video listing over 1000 names of documented trans murder victims from January 2016 to September 2020. Data was compiled by Transrespect Versus Transphobia Worldwide.

This is not your average video mashup. Unlike more typical, easy viewing mashup compilations, the editing in A Thousand Cuts is purposefully not seamless and the supposed humour is presented with a critical edge. The movement between the different clips is frenetic, chaotic, and unsettling, quickly jumping from one clip to another. The clips overlap at times to such an extent that it becomes difficult to take in the dialogue and images on all three monitors at once. The music is often foreboding, destabilizing, and suspenseful, similar to a horror movie soundtrack. Rather than constructing an easy to digest narrative, there is an overflow of information and it takes a few viewings to unpack the details.
This overwhelming viewing experience is very effective in that it replicates the bombardment of misunderstandings, misconceptions, and dehumanizing representations we see about trans people in the media every day.
” -- Kristen Hutchinson, LUMA Arts Quarterly 2018

B.G-Osborne is a queer, bigender settler of Scottish and British descent born and raised on Treaty 20 territory (Southern Ontario), currently working in Tio'tia:ke (Montréal).
Osborne’s ongoing projects seek to address the complexities and revisionary potential of gendervariant representation/embodiment, and unpack their experiences with mental illness and well-kept family secrets. They place great importance in showcasing their work in artist run centres and noncommercial galleries across Turtle Island. https://bgosborne.weebly.com/

B.G-Osborne encourages donations for :

- Taking What We Need. Taking What We Need is an informal volunteer-run community group dedicated to helping trans women, trans-feminine (AMAB) and two spirit people get what they need through discretionary funding.

- The Nina Arsenault Fund For Trans Arts by Glad Day Lit. Glad Day Lit is working with Nina Arsenault to set up a new fund to support Nina's next art project and the work of other trans artists.

The project A Thousand Cuts received funding from the Canada Council for the Arts

Photo credit : B.G-Osborne, A Thousand Cuts, screenshot from Sex & the City, 2018

Please note that the gallery space is not open to the public during window exhibitions.

Du 12 février 2021 au 21 mars 2021

A Thousand Cuts

B.G-Osborne

Avertissement sur le contenu : violence, meurtre

La Centrale galerie Powerhouse est fière de présenter l’exposition A Thousand Cuts de l’artiste B.G-Osborne, du 12 février 2021 au 21 mars 2021. À cause de la pandémie, cette exposition sera visible uniquement de la vitrine de La Centrale au 4296, boulevard St-Laurent, entre les rues Marie-Anne et Rachel. La vidéo A Thousand Cuts est également visible ci-dessous.

A Thousand Cuts est une installation vidéo de séquences récupérées diffusée sur trois canaux qui aborde la représentation erronée des personnes trans dans les films et à la télévision, ainsi que la réalité de la violence constante que vivent les personnes transgenres/transsexuelles. La vidéo est composée de séquences tirées de 48 films, 34 séries télévisées et un vidéoclip datant de 1953 à 2015.
La compilation vidéo est accompagnée d’un texte défilant sous forme d'une vidéo à canal unique qui énumère plus de 1000 noms de victimes de meurtres de personnes trans répertoriés entre janvier 2016 et septembre 2020. Les données ont été compilées par Transrespect Versus Transphobia Worldwide.

"Ce n'est pas une compilation vidéo ordinaire. Contrairement aux compilations de mashup plus classiques et faciles à visionner, le montage de A Thousand Cuts n'est volontairement pas homogène et l'humour sous-jacent est présenté avec une perspective critique. Le mouvement entre les différents clips est frénétique, chaotique et déconcertant, passant rapidement d'un extrait à l'autre. Les clips se chevauchent parfois à tel point qu'il devient difficile d’assimiler le dialogue et les images sur les trois moniteurs en même temps. La musique est souvent inquiétante, déstabilisante et pleine de suspense, semblable à la bande son d'un film d'horreur. Plutôt que de construire un récit digeste, il y a un trop plein d'informations et il faut plusieurs visionnements pour en décortiquer les détails.
Cette expérience de visionnage est très efficace dans la mesure où elle reproduit le bombardement d'incompréhensions, de méconnaissances et de représentations déshumanisantes des personnes trans que nous voyons tous les jours dans les médias
".

-- Kristen Hutchinson, LUMA Arts Quarterly 2018

B.G-Osborne est un.e descendant.e de colonisateurs d'origine écossaise et britannique, queer et bigenre, né.e et élevé.e sur le territoire du Traité n° 20 (sud de l'Ontario), iel travaille actuellement à Tio'tia:ke (Montréal).
Les projets en cours de B.G-Osborne cherchent à aborder les complexités et le potentiel de révision de la représentation/incarnation de la fluidité de genre et à décortiquer ses expériences avec la maladie mentale et les secrets de famille bien gardés. Iel accorde une grande importance à la présentation de son travail dans les centres d'artistes et les galeries non commerciales sur le territoire de l'Île de la Tortue.

https://bgosborne.weebly.com/

(traduit de l’anglais)

L’artiste B.G-Osborne encourage les dons pour :

- Taking What We Need. Taking What We Need est un collectif informel géré par des bénévoles voué à aider les femmes trans, les personnes transféminines (AHAN/AMAB) et personnes two spirit à obtenir ce dont elles ont besoin grâce à un financement discrétionnaire.

- The Nina Arsenault Fund For Trans Arts (Le Fonds Nina Arsenault pour les arts trans) par Glad Day Lit. Glad Day Lit travaille avec Nina Arsenault pour mettre en place un nouveau fonds destiné à soutenir le prochain projet artistique de Nina et le travail d'autres artistes trans.


Le projet A Thousand Cuts a reçu une subvention du Conseil des arts du Canada

Crédit photo : B.G-Osborne, A Thousand Cuts, screenshot from Sex & the City, 2018

Veuillez noter que l'espace de la galerie n'est pas ouvert au public pendant les expositions en vitrine.