From December 16 2010 to December 16 2010

AUDACES VIDÉOGRAPHIQUES

soirée powerhouse projection

MARCIA CONNOLY
ELISAPIE ISAAC
MARY KUNUK
ALETHEA ARNAQUQ-BARIL
commissaire : MARIE-HÉLÈNE COUSINEAU, montreal

Thursday December 16th, 7 pm

Marie-Hélène Cousineau is a producer and film director. Since 1991, she has been working with inuit collaborators in Igloolik (Nunavut), Puvirnituq and Inukjuak (Nunavik). Along with Madeline Ivalu, she co-directed the feature film “Before Tomorrow”, presented at the Sundance and the Toronto Film Festival and winner of many awards.

 

Video program: Audaces vidéographiques

Aqtuqsi by Mary Kunuk, animation, 1996, 5 minutes

Unikausiq by Mary Kunuk, animation, 1996, 5 minutes

Si le temps le permet by Elisapie Isaac, documentary, 2003, 28 minutes

Annie Pootoogook by Marcia Connoly, documentary, 2006, 24 minutes

Lumaajuuq by Alethea Arnaquq-Baril, animation, 2010, 7 minutes

Inuit High Kick by Alethea Arnaquq-Baril, experimental, 2010, 4 min

 

The chosen videos, presented as part of the series Women of the Arctic, share the quality of being daring: they reflect a need to speak up and an original use of the media, anchored in Inuit women’s culture and land.

Marie-Hélène Cousineau is a producer and film director. Since 1991, she has been working with inuit collaborators in Igloolik, (Nunavut) Puvirnituq and Inukjuak (Nunavik). Along with Madeline Ivalu, she co-directed the feature film “Le jour avant le lendemain”, presented at the sundance Film Festival and winner of many awards.

Aqtuqsi and Unikausiq by Mary Kunuk (Igloolik) are short animations that have been produced fifteen years ago. Back then the technology was not what it is today but it already allowed a freedom of production and an independence that we now take for granted. As Mary says,“ To record the songs and stories of my childhood is a way to preserve them”. In fact, Mary Kunuk, who has also drawn the graphics of these two films, was also showing the way for Inuit artists to experiment with new technologies that allowed them to keep full control over their own voices.

Through Si le temps le permet, Elisapie Isaac (Salluit) speaks up from a personnel and autobiographical perspective. However, (and this is what makes the piece so strong), this perspective is anchored in a wider social and political context. Elisapie Isaacs is now a renowned Québécois personality, but she dared to speak up through this piece long before she could enjoy the support she now knows.

(http://www.onf.ca/film/si_le_temps

_le_permet/)

Annie Pootoogook, by Marcia Connely, is evidently the result of an interesting artistic collaboration. A renowned artist from Cape Dorset, Pootoogook has contributed to the renewal of Inuit printmaking, not only in its form but also in its content. Her presence in the film allows us to see that she had fun with Connely and amused herself with the video media (for example when she chooses to speak directly to the camera), discovering without a doubt a new tool of expression. The film is extremely revealing and sheds a light on Annie Pootoogook’s life context and artistic process. (http://sitemedia.ca/films/annie-pootoogook/)

Lumaajuuq et Inuit High Kick by Alethea Arnaquq-Baril, testify of the director’s  will and determination to seize new means of production and to share cultural content; the pride and command in which she does so suggest that we are witnessing the beginnings of a remarkable film maker’s carreer.

 

To continue your exploration of Inuit video please visit www.isuma.tv

 

http://www.isuma.tv/hi/en/arnait-nipingit-womens-leadership-summit/charlotte-dee-lyall

http://www.isuma.tv/hi/en/arnait-nipingit-womens-leadership-summit/mystream60

http://www.isuma.tv/hi/en/tanya-tagaq/tanya-tagaq-in-puebla-mexico

trailer: http://www.isuma.tv/hi/en/tungijuq/tungijuq-trailer

http://www.isuma.tv/hi/en/igloolik-bands/norhern-haze

 

-Marie-Hélène Cousineau

Du 16 décembre 2010 au 16 décembre 2010

AUDACES VIDÉOGRAPHIQUES

soirée powerhouse projection

MARCIA CONNOLY
commissaire : MARIE-HÉLÈNE COUSINEAU, montreal
ELISAPIE ISAAC
MARY KUNUK
ALETHEA ARNAQUQ-BARIL

Le jeudi 16 décembre 2010, 19h

 

Les vidéos regroupées ici dans le cadre de la série Femmes de l’Arctique, sont tous  audacieux. Ils reflètent la prise de parole de femmes inuites qui utilisent le média d’une façon originale pour affirmer une créativité  ancrée dans leurs cultures et leurs lieux de vie.
 

Audaces vidéographiques

Aqtuqsi de Mary Kunuk, animation, 1996, 5 minutes

Unikausiq de Mary Kunuk, animation, 1996, 5 minutes

Si le temps le permet de Elisapie Isaac, documentaire, 2003, 28 minutes

Annie Pootoogook  de Marcia Connoly, documentaire, 2006, 24 minutes

Lumaajuuq de Alethea Arnaquq-Baril, animation, 2010, 7 min.

Inuit High Kick de Alethea Arnaquq-Baril, expérimental, 2010, 4 min

Aqtuqsi et Unikausiq de Mary Kunuk sont de courtes animations réalisées il y a quinze ans. La technologie d’alors n’était pas aussi sophistiquée qu’aujourd’hui, mais elle permettait déjà une liberté de production et une indépendance qui sont maintenant devenues la norme. ‘”Enregistrer les chansons et les histoires de mon enfance est une façon de les préserver.” En fait, Mary Kunuk, qui a également dessiné les graphiques de ces deux films, montraient aussi le chemin  aux artistes inuit désireuses de s’expérimenter avec des nouvelles technologies  qui leur permettent de conserver tout le contrôle sur leur parole.

Si le temps le permet de Elisapie Isaac (Salluit-Montréal) s’inscrit dans la prise de parole individuelle et biographique  mais, et c’est là sa force, situe cette parole dans un contexte social et politique. Devenue une personnalité artistique québécoise connue, Elisapie Isaacs a osé cette prise de parole bien avant qu’elle obtienne le soutien qu’elle a maintenant.

(http://www.onf.ca/film/si_le_temps_le_permet/)

 

Annie Pootoogook de Marcia Connely, est de toute évidence le fruit d’une collaboration artistique assez intéressante. Annie Pootoogook est une artiste de Cape Dorset, une artiste forte et originale, qui amène la gravure inuit à se renouveler non seulement dans la forme mais aussi dans le contenu.  Sa présence dans le film nous laisse comprendre qu’elle s’est amusée avec Marcia, avec le média vidéo (qu’on pense seulement aux moments où elle s’adresse à la caméra directement) découvrant sans aucun doute le pouvoir d’un autre d’outil d’expression. Le film est extrêmement révélateur du processus de création et du contexte de vie de Annie Pootoogook à Cape Dorset. (http://sitemedia.ca/films/annie-pootoogook/)

Lumaajuuq  et Inuit High Kick de Alethea Arnaquq-Baril, témoignent d’une volonté forte de s’approprier des moyens de production en même temps que d’exprimer des contenus culturels avec une fierté et une maîtrise qui laisse à entrevoir que Alethea Arnaquq-Baril n’en est qu’au début d’une carrière de cinéaste remarquable.

 

Pour continuer votre exploration des images vidéos inuites veuillez visiter le portail www.isuma.tv

http://www.isuma.tv/hi/en/arnait-nipingit-womens-leadership-summit/charlotte-dee-lyall

http://www.isuma.tv/hi/en/arnait-nipingit-womens-leadership-summit/mystream60

http://www.isuma.tv/hi/en/tanya-tagaq/tanya-tagaq-in-puebla-mexico

trailer: http://www.isuma.tv/hi/en/tungijuq/tungijuq-trailer

http://www.isuma.tv/hi/en/igloolik-bands/norhern-haze

 

-Marie-Hélène Cousineau

 

Bio :

Marie-Hélène Cousineau est productrice et réalisatrice. Elle travaille avec des collaboratrices inuit depuis 1991, à Igloolik (Nunavut), Puvirnituq et Inukjuak (Nunavik). Elle a co-réalisé avec Madeline Ivalu, une Ainée inuite de Igloolik, le long métrage “Le jour avant le lendemain”, présenté au festival de Sundance et de Toronto et gagnant de plusieurs prix.(www.beforetomorow.ca)