The November 26 2014

Digging the Archive

Soirée projection

Anne Golden (Montréal), Commissaire
Artistes variés

Screeening Wednesday, November 26th 7:30

Digging the Archive will be preceded by another project developed from an archival residency during La Centrale's 40th Anniversary programming series. k.g. guttman will give an artist talk to present her project Conversation that she carried out with member and former member artists of La Centrale.

Conversation, by k.g. Guttman

Conversation, conceived in celebratory spirit for the 40th anniversary of La Centrale, was a choreographic project that activated and rejuvenated lines of contact between past and current members. During March-May 2014, I facilitated conversations through pairing up of foundational members or members in the early years with newer members. My desire for the piece was to explore a mode of transmission and remembering that wasn’t official or archival, but through the flux of being in relation.

Digging the Archive, curated by Anne Golden

The archives of La Centrale are the reflection of an incredibly diverse engagement with every imaginable art medium as well as being an anthology of significant figures. The constant flux of new tape format, cameras and editing methods has impacted early video history and how that history is written from region to region and even centre-to-centre. It is a medium that is unsettled and unmoored. The flexibility of the medium has meant that activists and artists have claimed it. In fact, the artists whose work is presented in this program create liminal spaces between the binaries of ‘art’ and ‘activism’. The program Digging the Archive features seminal work from artists who presented their work in the first decade of La centrale’s existence.

Screeening:
Entrée en scène, Vidéographe, 1972, 10 min 15 s, French
Solidarity, Joyce Wieland, 1973, 10 min 40 s
Semiotics of the Kitchen, Martha Rosler, 1975, 5 min 30 s, English
Pure Virtue, Tanya Mars, 1985, 15 min, English
Comptines, Diane Poitras, 1986, 4 min, French
This Is Your Messiah Speaking, Vera Frenkel, 1991, 9 minutes 50 s, English
JR-952, Chantal duPont, 2009, 3 min 28 s

k.g. Guttman is an artist based in Montreal. She is currently a candidate in the PhD Arts program (artistic research) of Leiden University and the Royal Academy of Art in the Hague, the Netherlands. Her work, funded through the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council (SSHRC), considers relationships between mapping, choreography, and site-specific interventions. From 2008-2013, k.g. Guttman was an Assistant Professor in the Department of Contemporary Dance at Concordia University, Montreal.

www.kgguttman.com

Anne Golden is an independent curator and writer whose programs have been presented at Musée National du Québec, Edges Festival and Queer City Cinema among others. She has written for FUSE and Canadian Theatre Review. Golden has participated in numerous panels on curatorial practices, independent distribution and, more recently, horror films.

Golden is Artistic Director of Groupe Intervention Vidéo (GIV). She teaches in the Creative Arts Department of John Abbott College.

Golden has made fifteen videos including at Chance (1994), Big Girl Town (1998), From the Archives of Vidéo Populaire (2007) and The Shack (2013).

Du 26 novembre 2014 au 26 novembre 2014

Digging the Archive

Soirée projection

Anne Golden (Montréal), Commissaire
Artistes variés

Soirée Projection Mercredi 26 novembre, 19h30

Digging the Archive sera précédé par un projet découlant également d'une résidence de recherche dans les archives de La Centrale, réalisé lui aussi dans le cadre de notre Programmation spéciale 40e anniversaire. À 19h, k.g. Guttman présentera Conversation, un projet qu'elle a mené en collaboration avec des membres actuelles et d'anciennes membres de La Centrale.

Conversation, par k.g. Guttman

Conçu dans l'esprit des célébrations du 40e anniversaire de La Centrale, Conversation s'est développé comme un projet chorégraphique réactivant les lignes de contact entre d'anciennes membres et des membres actuelles. Au cours des mois de mars à mai 2014, k.g. Guttman a mis en oeuvre une série de conversations par le jumelage de membres tout au long de l'histoire de la Centrale : fondatrices anciennes membres, ou actives aujourd'hui. Ce projet était porté par le désir d'explorer un mode de transmission sous forme de souvenirs, s'éloignant d'une approche qui soit autoritaire ou archivistique. Avec Conversations l'artiste a plutôt choisi de privilégier l'échange avec l'autre.

Digging the Archive, commissarié par Anne Golden

En plus de refléter le caractère extrêmement éclectique du travail de La centrale, qui s’est intéressée au cours de son histoire à tous les médias artistiques imaginables, les archives de la galerie constituent un véritable répertoire des figures importantes de l’art contemporain. En raison des nombreux changements des formats de bandes, des caméras et des méthodes de montage, l’histoire de la vidéo des premiers temps est complexe et peut différer d’une région à l’autre, et même d’un centre à l’autre. Il s’agit d’un médium souple et pluriel, et sa flexibilité en a fait un outil de prédilection pour les militants et les artistes. En fait, les artistes dont le travail est présenté dans le présent programme explorent des espaces liminaux entre l’univers de l’art et celui de l’activisme. Le programme Digging the Archive propose des œuvres majeures d’artistes qui ont présenté leurs vidéos au cours de la première décennie d’existence de La centrale.

Traduction de Gabriel Chagnon.

Programmation vidéo:

Entrée en scène, Vidéographe, 1972, 10 min 15 s, Français
Solidarity, Joyce Wieland, 1973, 10 min 40 s
Semiotics of the Kitchen, Martha Rosler, 1975, 5 min 30 s, Anglais
Pure Virtue, Tanya Mars, 1985, 15 min, Anglais
Comptines, Diane Poitras, 1986, 4 min, Français
This Is Your Messiah Speaking, Vera Frenkel, 1991, 9 minutes 50 s, Anglais
JR-952, Chantal duPont, 2009, 3 min 28 s,

La pratique artistique de k.g. Guttman recoupe la danse, la performance et les arts visuels. Elle est présentement candidate au doctorat en pratique et recherche des arts à l’Université Leiden et à L'Académie royale des Beaux-Arts de la Haye, aux Pays-Bas. Son travail, financé par le Conseil de recherches en sciences humaines (CRSH), considère les relations entre la cartographie, la chorégraphie, et l’intervention in situ. De 2008 à 2013, k.g. Guttman était professeur adjointe à l’Université Concordia, au département de danse contemporaine.

Anne Golden est commissaire indépendante et écrivaine. Les programmations vidéo qu'elle a commissariées ont été présentées au Musée national du Québec, dans le cadre du Edges Festival et du festival Queer City Cinema, entre autres. Elle a écrit pour FUSE et pour le Canadian Theatre Review. Golden a participé à de nombreuses présentations sur les pratiques de conservation, sur la distribution indépendante et, plus récemment, sur les films d'horreur.

Golden est Directrice artistique du Groupe Intervention Vidéo (GIV). Elle enseigne au département de Media Arts du Cégep John Abbott.

Golden a réalisé une quinzaine de videos incluant Fat Chance (1994), Big Girl Town (1998), From the Archives of Vidéo Populaire (2007) et The Shack (2013).