The February 03 2011

LINE, IMAGE, TEXT: THREE CONCEPTUAL TATTOOS

soirée powerhouse performance

modératice : ERIN SILVER, montreal
SHEENA HOSZKO, montreal
MICHELLE LACOMBE & ÉMILIE ROBY, montreal
VINCENT CHEVALIER, montreal

Discussion with artists thursday, February 3, 7pm

Line, Image, Text: Three Conceptual Tattoos

Over the course of the past year, Sheena Hoszko, Vincent Chevalier and Michelle Lacombe (in collaboration with Emilie Roby) were tattooed. Presented as part of La Centrale’s 2010 programming, these tattoos exist as conceptual gestures and ongoing performances, research-based works that manifest themselves permanently on the skin’s surface. The works therefore find their meaning in very intimate encounters as well as through public forums.

La Centrale’s new performance series Powerhouse Performance,will be inaugurated by a discursive event elaborating upon the three body art projects and their respective research. Contextualizing the marks on the artists’ bodies will allow a line, an image and a word to unravel into complex sites of experimental embodiment and critical reflection. Following the presentations, Erin Silver will lead a public discussion on the individual works and their overlapping themes. 

Michelle Lacombe & Emilie Roby
The Venus Pose

This work exists as a reproduction of Giorgione’s “Sleeping Venus“ (1510), a painting that can be credited for having first depicted the female nude within a Western canon of art history. The influence of this image continues to characterize Western readings of real female bodies, particularly in feminist body art and performance practices. The Venus Pose, executed in October 2010, consists of seven lines tattooed on my body by Emilie Roby. These lines recreate those fragmenting the posed body in the “Sleeping Venus“. Marking my body with lines excerpted from the painting’s figure is an attempt to collapse two contradicting but inherently linked bodies: the represented and the real.


Vincent Chevalier
Blank Hanky, Bottom Right


Since the 1970s, when members of the leather, kink, and BDSM community used different-coloured hankies to indicate sexual preferences while cruising, wearing a coloured hanky in one's back pocket has been a notable symbol of public sex for queers. In May 2010, I had the outline of a hanky sticking out of a jeans pocket tattooed on my right buttock, as part of an ongoing performance work entitled Blank Hanky, Bottom Right. As a "blank" hanky, the tattoo can be filled in with markers of various colours depending on the type of sex act myself (and my sexual partners) would like to engage in. The tattoo is a performative site on which the gesture of marking my body becomes a negotiation of desire between myself and another person. In doing so, I hope to engage an ongoing dialogue about sexual identity and queer histories, specifically the ways in which community is formulated around shared cultural experience.

Sheena Hoszko
Ressentir


The verb Ressentir was tattooed on my upper right arm by William HB at Tatouage Pointe St.Charles in Montreal during the winter of 2010. By utilising a word that connotes the act of being affected, I am foregrounding the project’s intention to highlight the similarities and differences between emotional and physical feeling through language and gesture. Through a needle piercing the skin, Ressentir seeks to embody an emotional sensation while both referencing and paying homage to the memorial and dedication-based tattoo traditions. This project is accompanied by a zine that traces my understanding of the word Ressentir and how it currently manifests itself within my artistic practice.


image credits from left to right : Lorna Bauer, Guy L’heureux, David J. Romero

Du 03 février 2011 au 03 février 2011

LIGNE, IMAGE, TEXTE : trois tatouages conceptuels

soirée powerhouse performance

VINCENT CHEVALIER, montreal
SHEENA HOSZKO, montreal
modératice : ERIN SILVER, montreal
MICHELLE LACOMBE & ÉMILIE ROBY, montreal

Discussion avec les artistes jeudi 3 février, 19h

Au cours de la dernière année, Sheena Hoszko, Vincent Chevalier et Michelle Lacombe (en collaboration avec Émilie Roby) se sont faits tatouer. Présentés dans le cadre de la programmation 2010 de La Centrale, ces tatouages existent comme gestes conceptuels et comme performances en continu. Ces œuvres, ancrées dans la recherche théorique, se manifestent sur l’épiderme de manière permanente. Elles prennent donc leur sens lors de rencontres intimes ainsi que lors de forums publics.

Powerhouse Performance, la nouvelle série de performances de La Centrale, s’ouvrira avec cet événement discursif élaborant sur ces trois projets d’art corporel et leurs recherches respectives. Le fait de donner un contexte aux marques inscrites sur les corps des artistes permettra à une ligne, une image et un mot de se déployer dans des sites complexes d’expérimentation incarnée et de réflexion critique. Après les présentations, Erin Silver animera une discussion portant d’abord sur chacune de ces œuvres, puis sur les thèmes communs.  
 

Michelle Lacombe & Émilie Roby
The Venus Pose

Cette œuvre existe en tant que reproduction de la Vénus endormie (1510) de Giorgione, tableau réputé être le premier à avoir représenté le nu feminin selon les critères occidentaux d’histoire de l’art. L’influence de cette image continue à caractériser comment l’Occident fait la lecture des corps féminins réels, en particulier dans l’art corporel et les pratiques de performance féministes. Réalisé en octobre 2010, The Venus Pose se compose de sept lignes tatouées sur mon corps par Émilie Roby. Celles-ci recréent les lignes qui fragmentent le corps de la Vénus endormie. Le marquage de mon corps avec des lignes extraites de celui de la figure peinte veut fusionner deux corps contradictoires mais en fait intimement reliés : le représenté et le réel.


Vincent Chevalier
Blank Hanky, Bottom Right

Depuis les années 1970, alors que les membres de la communauté privilégiant les pratiques sexuelles cuir, « kink » et « BDSM » utilisaient des mouchoirs de couleurs différentes pour annoncer leurs préférences pendant la drague, le port d’un mouchoir de couleur dans la poche arrière est un symbole notoire du sexe publique pour la communauté queer. En mai 2010, j’ai fait tatouer le contour d’un mouchoir dépassant de la poche d’un jeans sur ma fesse droite, dans le cadre d’une œuvre de performance intitulée Blank Hanky, Bottom Right. Puisque le mouchoir est non-coloré, ce tatouage peut être rempli à l’aide de marqueurs de diverses couleurs selon le genre d’échange sexuel que moi et mes partenaires sexuels désirons. Ce tatouage est un site performatif sur lequel le geste de marquer mon corps devient une négociation du désir entre moi et l’autre. J’espère ainsi déclencher un dialogue sur l’identité sexuelle et les récits queer, et plus précisément sur comment la communauté se forme autour d’une expérience culturelle partagée.

Sheena Hoszko
Ressentir

Le verbe Ressentir a été tatoué sur le haut de mon bras droit par William HB chez Tatouage Pointe St-Charles, à Montréal, en hiver 2010. En utilisant un mot qui évoque l’acte d’être affectée, je tente de souligner les ressemblances et les différences entre les sensations d’ordre émotionnel et physique par le biais du langage et du geste. Au moyen d’une aiguille qui perce la peau, Ressentir cherche à incarner une sensation affective tout en faisant référence et en rendant hommage aux traditions de tatouage basées sur la commémoration et la dédicace. Ce projet s’accompagne d’un zine retraçant ma compréhension de Ressentir et comment ce verbe se manifeste présentement dans ma pratique artistique.

crédits d’images de gauche à droite : Lorna Bauer, Guy L’heureux, David J. Romero