From October 09 2009 to November 08 2009

Symphonie sur un même souffle

EUGÉNIE CLICHE, québec
EUGÉNIE CLICHE, québec

Exphibit october 9 to november 8, 2009
Opening october 9, 7pm
Artist talk october 10, 3pm

As desire rises and time passes, you’re enjoying the cadence. You forget about power, war, violence. You don’t think about anything … You remind yourself that life isn’t always so complicated … Later on, you applaud warmly. With tears in your eyes, you realize that it’s still possible to have a good time.

A series of autosuggestive performance-tableaux, where contemplation makes room for surprise as well as for strange coincidences, incoherence and unexpected dramatic turns.  The visible becomes enigmatic, while the marvelous is a source of fear like in a disjointed Walt Disney movie. By pushing the limits of subversion in the lived space, we witness an analysis of the human condition between awkwardness and shame, thrilling happiness, cynicism and politely acceptable malaise. A video that refers to cinematography as well as to mainstream culture and collective memory. The sketches can recall a music video, or a commercial, a video game, the shooting of a porn flick, a parodic nod to reality TV …


Eugénie Cliche divides her time between Québec City and St-Lambert, QC. In recent years she has created a no-holds-barred videographic world that blends performance art, photography and video. Combining playfulness, mockery, irony and pathos with a certain violence, she questions the scope and impact of the candid images conveyed by our media-driven societies. Her work has been presented in various contexts and festivals in Canada and abroad, including in France, Morocco, Croatia, Japan, Poland and Macedonia. Eugénie Cliche is a cofounder and active member of the collective Les Fermières obsédées, whose performances have been infusing undiscipline into the ‘action art’ genre since 2001.

The artist would like to thank Paraloeil (media arts centre) ainsi que la Bande Vidéo (creation and research media arts centre) for their support in this project.

Du 09 octobre 2009 au 08 novembre 2009

Symphonie sur un même souffle

EUGÉNIE CLICHE, québec
EUGÉNIE CLICHE, québec

Exposition 9 octobre au 8 novembre 2009
Vernissage 9 octobre, 19h
Présentation d'artiste 10 octobre, 15h

Pendant que le désir monte et que le temps passe, vous appréciez la cadence. Vous en oubliez le pouvoir, la guerre et la violence. Vous ne pensez plus à rien... Vous vous dites à vous-même que la vie n’est pas toujours si compliquée… Plus tard, vous applaudissez avec ferveur. Les larmes aux yeux, vous constatez qu’il est encore possible de s’amuser…

Succession de tableaux-performances auto-suggestifs où la contemplation laisse place tant à la surprise, qu'aux coïncidences bizarres, aux incohérences et aux coups de théâtre fumants. Le visible tourne alors à l’énigmatique, tandis que le merveilleux devient une source de crainte tel un film de Walt Disney désarticulé. En poussant les limites de la subversion en territoire habité, on assiste à une analyse de la condition humaine entre gêne et honte, bonheur exaltant, cynisme dérisoire et malaise poliment acceptable. Une vidéo qui fait référence tant à  la cinématographie qu’à la culture de masse et à la mémoire collective. Les saynètes exhibées peuvent faire penser tantôt à un vidéoclip tantôt à une publicité, un jeu vidéo, au tournage d'un film XXX, un clin d’œil parodique à la télé réalité...

Eugénie Cliche est une artiste qui partage sa vie et son travail entre Québec et St-Lambert. Depuis les dernières années, elle construit un univers vidéographique débridé qui confond performance, photographie et vidéo. Alliant le ludique, le dérisoire, l’ironique et le pathétique à une certaine violence, elle questionne au passage, la portée et l’impact de l’image candide véhiculée par notre société et les médias. À ce jour, sa vidéographie a été présentée dans divers contextes et festivals au Canada et à l’étranger tel que la France, le Maroc, la Croatie, le Japon, la Pologne et la Macédoine. Eugénie Cliche est co-fondatrice et membre active du collectif Les Fermières Obsédées dont les performances insufflent une indiscipline au genre de l'art action depuis 2001.