From October 01 2020 to October 10 2020

Laboratory Programming

Curated by the Equity-seeking committee in collaboration with Wapikoni Mobile and the Montreal Feminist Film Festival

Online film programming from October 1 to October 10

The global pandemic has not only disrupted the daily lives of many people but also raised existing social tensions. In this context, many people mobilized to denounce the injustices that are going on. In order to do that, some have, among others things, joined movements such as Black Live Matter and / or have spoken during the various waves of denunciations.

How in a time of isolation, pure uncertainty and worry can we help each other and take care of ourselves and others?

In collaboration with Wapikoni Mobile and the Montreal Feminist Film Festival, La Centrale galerie Powerhouse’s Equity-seeking committee presents a program of films that offers a breath, a moment of lightness, gentleness and hope in this tense and complex atmosphere.

This program presents documentaries, experimental films and short films focusing on the realities and stories of resilient and courageous people, who, through the reappropriation of their narrative and their identity, have been able to advance towards repair, healing and emancipation.

The concepts of care (and self-care), community and solidarity are fundamental for people who have experienced trauma and particularly for the BIPOC and 2SLGBTQQIPAA + communities. Necessary to survive the exhaustion and fatigue created by traumatic events and / or injustices, these concepts intervene in a process of healing and reparation.

Films presented during the Laboratory Programming:

Films presented by Wapikoni Mobile

  • Nin Tapwe (Authentique | Genuine), Katherine Nequado
  • Sukaskieskwew (Femme forte de la terre), Madelaine McCallum
  • Love Will Set You Free, Quanah Style
  • Un papillon dans une bulle (A Butterfly in a Bubble), Peggy Sue Riverin Simon
  • Nitanish - à ma fille, Melissa Mollen Dupuis
  • Pinatakushkuess, Gaëlle Mollen
  • Là d’où vient mon sang (Where My Blood Is From), Jemmy Echaquan Dubé
  • Healing Journey One Button At A Time, Joleen Mitton
  • Nous nous soulèverons, Natasha Kanapé Fontaine
  • Strong woman song, Naomi Condo
  • Stage name Victoria, Taran Morriseau

Films presented by the Montreal Feminist Film Festival

  • MIRADA DE MUJER (Regard de femme), Rosa Maria Sulca Pomahuacre
  • Refugee Wave, Jane Chow
  • Zaya, Susanne Serres
  • Brother, move on, Antshi von Moos
  • ME TIME, Iyabo Boyd

La Centrale galerie Powerhouse’s Equity-seeking committee
The equity-seeking committee is a space to share experiences, develop reflections and propose actions, strategies and interventions with a decolonial and anti-racist aim. The equity-seeking committee works and guides La Centrale through an intersectional perspective, not only in terms of its programming, but also in its organizational structure. More specifically, this committee makes proposals within the programming (Laboratory), the membership and conducts meetings to make an assessment on equity as well as to develop proposals based on the issues addressed.

Laboratory programming
The Laboratory programming was created by the equity-seeking committee, following a crisis that occurred at La Centrale, engendered by racism, oppression, discrimination and power dynamics. This programming responds to a need to diversify the centre's regular programming. Its objective is to present and expose the works, research and speeches of people from traditionally underrepresented communities, such as Indigenous, Black, POC, 2SLGBTQQIPAA+, disabled or neurodivergent people.

Through the Laboratory programming, the members of the equity-seeking committee offer debates, dialogues, conferences, round tables, performances and projections related to decolonial, anti-racist issues and, more generally, inclusiveness. Each year, these members invite artists and researchers to participate in this programming in order to activate reflections around and from these issues.

Members of the committee: Laura Acosta, Karina Arbelaez, My-Van Dam, Maria Ezcurra, Maryam Izadifard, Sarah Mohammed, Michaëlle Sergile

Wapikoni Mobile
Wapikoni Mobile's mission lies in three points:

  • Combat isolation and suicide among First Nations youth while developing artistic, technical, social, and professional skills
  • Broadcast films and various public awareness issues facing First Nations while enhancing a rich culture, too often overlooked
  • Contribute to the preservation of First Nations cultural heritage

Montreal Feminist Film Festival
The mission of the FFFM is to present a selection of short films and videos as well as feminist feature films reflecting the intersectionality of struggles. These films can be documentaries, fictions, animations or experimental works.

Du 01 octobre 2020 au 10 octobre 2020

Programmation Laboratoire

Commissariée par le comité en quête d’équité en collaboration avec Wapikoni Mobile et le Festival de Films Féministes de Montréal

Programmation de films en ligne du 1 octobre au 10 octobre

La pandémie mondiale a non seulement bouleversé le quotidien de plusieurs personnes mais a aussi soulevé des tensions sociales déjà existantes. Dans ce contexte, de nombreuses personnes se sont mobilisées pour dénoncer les injustices qu’ielles vivent. Pour ce faire, certain.e.s ont, entre autres, rejoint des mouvements de contestation tel que le Black Live Matter et/ou ont pris la parole au cours des diverses vagues de dénonciations.

Comment dans un moment d’isolement, de pure incertitude et d’inquiétude peut-on s’entraider et prendre soin de soi et d’autrui?

En collaboration avec Wapikoni Mobile et le Festival de Films Féministes de Montréal, le comité en quête d’équité de La Centrale galerie Powerhouse présente une programmation de films qui offre un souffle, un moment de légèreté, de douceur et d’espoir dans cette atmosphère tendue et complexe.

Cette programmation présente des films documentaires, des films expérimentaux et des courts métrages portant sur les réalités et histoires de personnes résilientes et courageuses, qui à travers la réappropriation de leur narration et de leur identité, ont su avancer vers la réparation, la guérison et l’émancipation.

Les concepts de soin (care/self-care), de communauté et de solidarité sont fondamentaux pour les personnes ayant vécu des traumatismes et particulièrement pour les communautés BIPOC et 2SLGBTQQIPAA+. Nécessaires pour survivre à l’épuisement et à la fatigue créés par des événements traumatiques et/ou des injustices, ces concepts interviennent dans un processus de guérison et de réparation.

Le comité en quête équité de La Centrale galerie Powerhouse
Le comité en quête d’équité est un espace pour partager des expériences, développer des réflexions et proposer des actions, stratégies et interventions à visée décoloniales et antiracistes. Le comité en quête d’équité travaille et aiguille La Centrale dans une perspective intersectionnelle, non seulement au niveau de sa programmation, mais aussi dans sa structure organisationnelle.

Plus précisément, ce comité fait des propositions au sein de la programmation (Laboratoire), du membership et se réunit pour faire un état des lieux de l'équité ainsi que pour élaborer des propositions en fonction des problématiques abordées.

Programmation Laboratoire
La programmation Laboratoire a été créée par le comité en quête d’équité suite à une crise survenue à La Centrale engendrée par du racisme, de l’oppression, des discriminations et des dynamiques de pouvoir. Cette programmation répond à une nécessité de diversifier la programmation régulière du centre. Son objectif est de faire connaître et d’exposer les travaux, les recherches et les discours provenant de personnes issues des communautés traditionnellement sous-représentées, telles que des personnes Autochtones, Noires, racisées, 2SLGBTQQIPAA+, en situation d’handicap ou neurodivergentes.

À travers la programmation laboratoire, les membres du comité en quête d’équité proposent des débats, dialogues, conférences, tables rondes, performances et projections relatifs à des enjeux décoloniaux, anti racistes et plus généralement d’inclusivité. Chaque année, ces membres invitent des artistes et des chercheur.se.s à participer à cette programmation afin d'activer des réflexions autour et à partir de ces enjeux.

Membres du comité : Laura Acosta, Karina Arbelaez, My-Van Dam, Maria Ezcurra, Maryam Izadifard, Sarah Mohammed, Michaëlle Sergile

Wapikoni Mobile
La mission de Wapikoni Mobile réside en trois points:

  • Combattre l'isolement et le suicide chez les jeunes des Premières Nations en développant des compétences artistiques, techniques, sociales et professionnelles.
  • Diffuser les films réalisés et sensibiliser différents publics face aux enjeux des Premières Nations en valorisant une culture riche et trop souvent méconnue.
  • Contribuer à la sauvegarde du patrimoine culturel des Premières Nations


Festival de films féministes de Montréal (FFFM)
La mission du FFFM est de présenter une sélection de courts films et vidéos ainsi que des longs métrages féministes reflétant l’intersectionnalité des luttes. Ces films peuvent être des documentaires, fictions, des animations ou des oeuvres expérimentales.